The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 01, 2016, 10:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burtis449 View Post
Situation: Team A adds a player to their score book. Team Technical foul on Team A. The game starts with 2 foul shots by a team B member followed by a throw-in by B1.

Question: when does the AP arrow get switched? I'd like a rule reference.

I've been told conflicting things by different (respected) officials.
One was that it's a normal AP throw in and the arrow gets switched when the throw in ends like normal.
I was also told that the arrow gets switched immediately after B1 has the ball in his/her hands. The reason being that this is the initial starting of team possession so switch the arrow to A's basket before the ball is thrown in. Rule 4-3 Art. 3b?! What are free throws for a non-common foul in this situation?

Any help would be appreciated.
You started the game with 2 technical free throws. Those are FTs for a "non common foul." You have the right rule section. When you hand the ball to team B for the throw in the arrow is set for the first time towards team A.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 01, 2016, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
You started the game with 2 technical free throws. Those are FTs for a "non common foul." You have the right rule section. When you hand the ball to team B for the throw in the arrow is set for the first time towards team A.
In other words, when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower.

Again, Rule 4-3 is only employed in setting the arrow's initial direction, which happens at the beginning of the game or any extra period. 6-4-4 describes how the arrow is switched on an AP throw-in, which accounts for the vast majority of situations in which the scorer does something with the arrow.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 02, 2016, 07:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
A) In the situation being discussed, with the arrow having been set to Team A, if on the ensuing throw-in, A2 and B2 simultaneously catch the ball, which team has the opportunity to attempt the subsequent throw-in?

B) On an alternating throw-in, other than the situation discussed above, with the arrow indicating that team B gets the opportunity to attempt the throw-in, if the throw-in by B1 is simultaneously caught by B2 and A2, which team has the subsequent throw-in? And when is the arrow switched?
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .

Last edited by Rob1968; Sun Oct 02, 2016 at 07:53pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 02, 2016, 08:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
A) In the situation being discussed, with the arrow having been set to Team A, if on the ensuing throw-in, A2 and B2 simultaneously catch the ball, which team has the opportunity to attempt the subsequent throw-in?

B) On an alternating throw-in, other than the situation discussed above, with the arrow indicating that team B gets the opportunity to attempt the throw-in, if the throw-in by B1 is simultaneously caught by B2 and A2, which team has the subsequent throw-in? And when is the arrow switched?
A. It was set towards A when handed to B1 for the throw in. When B1 throws it in and A2 and B2 grab it simultaneously we go to the arrow. It is now an AP throw in for A. When you set the arrow the first time in the game towards A when it is handed tothrower B1 the arrow isn't changed when that throw in ends.


B. When B1s alternating throw in is simultaneously caught by B2 and A2 that AP throw in is over. Arrow goes to A. A gets the AP throw in from A2 and B2 simultaneously catching B1 throw in. If B1 would have held the ball over the boundary and A1 grabbed it and both held on, that AP throw in would not have ended and B gets it again for the AP throw in. That's a case play somewhere.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AP arrow Huskerblue Basketball 5 Sat Dec 15, 2007 07:11am
AP Arrow drinkeii Basketball 26 Thu Feb 22, 2007 04:06pm
Arrow? ripcord51 Basketball 4 Tue Dec 19, 2006 08:09am
arrow? jr Basketball 5 Tue Nov 22, 2005 12:36pm
Arrow gostars Basketball 5 Wed Nov 24, 2004 03:28pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1