
Mon Oct 17, 2016, 03:26pm
|
This IS My Social Life
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF
Rule 6-4-4....the direction of the possession arrow is reversed immediately after an alternating-possession throw in ends. An alternating-possession throw in ends when the throw in ends as in 4-42-5
Rule 6-4-5 ......if the defensive team commits a violation during the throw in, the possession arrow is not changed not switched
Rule 4-42-5...The throw in ends when
a. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player
6-4-4 is clear, the arrow is switched according to 4-42-5, the word legally has been removed, therefore, when the ball is touched legally, or illegally, the throw in has ended, therefore the arrow switches at that time. The kicked ball isn't part of the throw in as the throw in ended when it was touched inbounds. The kick is a touch which ended the throw in, it just happens to be that that touch is illegal. Team A will get a throw in for the illegal act of the kick, but since the throw in was touched, the throw in ends and the arrow should be switched.
Throw in starts when the ball is at the disposal of a player entitled to it---and ends when it touches or is touched by another player inbounds. The kick didn't happen during the throw in, it happened after.
|
Whereas I appreciate your well-reasoned, logical argument, and even agree with it in principle, in view of the recently released interpretation Situation 11, and since the training/teaching preseason has already begun, it looks like we're going with the interp and with 6-4-5. Arrow doesn't change when defense violates, only when throw-in team does so.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
|