The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 14, 2016, 10:36am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
If you are referring to 10.1.5 Situation D, which is not specifically an end-of-game scenario. Regardless, the casebook play calls for a DOG warning, which stops the clock and thereby rewards A for its intentional violation. Bob's suggestions are, to me, quite practical, similar to passing on a slight touch foul when a team wants to foul intentionally.
He's not, there's a case play that says to ignore the violation unless it actually gets in the way of a throw in. If that's the case, it says to skip to the T even if no warning had previously been issued.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 14, 2016, 10:46am
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
He's not, there's a case play that says to ignore the violation unless it actually gets in the way of a throw in. If that's the case, it says to skip to the T even if no warning had previously been issued.
Ok, thanks. Do you have a cite? I must be overlooking something. In any event, the case play says what Bob said.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 14, 2016, 11:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
Ok, thanks. Do you have a cite? I must be overlooking something. In any event, the case play says what Bob said.
Comment section--9.2.10A
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 14, 2016, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
We get this question a couple of times each season.



9.2.10 SITUATION A:
A1 is out of bounds for a throw-in. B1 reaches through the boundary plane and knocks the ball out of A1's hands. Team B has not been warned previously for a throw-in plane infraction.
RULING: B1 is charged with a technical foul and it also results in the official having a team warning recorded and reported to the head coach.
COMMENT: In situations with the clock running and five or less seconds left in the game, a throw-in plane violation or interfering with the ball following a goal should be ignored if its only purpose is to stop the clock. However, if the tactic in any way interferes with the thrower's efforts to make a throw-in, a technical foul for delay shall be called even though no previous warning had been issued. In this situation, if the official stopped the clock and issued a team warning, it would allow the team to benefit from the tactic. (4-47-1; 10-1-5b, c; 10-3-10)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 14, 2016, 11:51am
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 768
Thanks. And makes sense, common sense.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 15, 2016, 08:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 81
Thanks guys!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IF Situation Dukat Softball 10 Mon Jul 21, 2008 01:03pm
I have never had this situation. jwwashburn Baseball 9 Tue Jun 17, 2008 11:30am
What do we do in this situation? FUBLUE Softball 7 Thu Jan 29, 2004 04:06pm
Another FT situation John Schaefferkoetter Basketball 1 Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:45am
TO situation ChuckElias Basketball 21 Wed Dec 04, 2002 08:54pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1