![]() |
|
|
|||
Duke/Virginia PC/B call
There are several things to talk about in this play. At the 9 minute mark of the 3rd quarter, there is a PC/B play. As I saw it live, I had a pc. However upon further review, I see that the C points for a pc, but the L indicates a block. [If memory serves, there are no blarges in the women's ncaa game.] My questions are: 1) CC/ICC, and 2) whose primary.
__________________
![]() ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Right now everything I post is from TV feeds and some ESPN feeds. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Here's the play...
As to the questions/observations...in order: *Lcubed, you're correct. Blarges do not exist in NCAAW. (A.R. 174: When the officials signal simultaneously, they shall get together and agree to give the call to the official who had the play originate in his/her primary. When the officials disagree that the fouls occurred simultaneously, they shall determine which foul occurred first. Once a decision is reached, that foul is reported to the official scorer and the appropriate penalty is assessed) *This was a block so it was an ICC. *As to whose primary it is, there's this from the Women's CCA manual: Quote:
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
|||
Quote:
I said live it looked to be a charge. On replay, I have a block. The defender didn't establish LGP prior to the beginning of the shooter's motion. ICC - I agree. According to NCAAW mechanics, this play was then the C's all the way. In the clip, the L has his eyes on the play all the way to the end. If the C is following the ball into the paint, he had to pick up the defender late. I would assume that this play would be discussed in the postgame.
__________________
![]() ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
No, this is L's call. The drive was down the lane. And, I know it's going to be obvious, but what is "ICC?" Last edited by bob jenkins; Sat Mar 05, 2016 at 08:23am. |
|
|||
Quote:
In an ideal world no one in the OP would have given a preliminary signal. They didn't seem to discuss it much on the court so my guess is the L wasn't 150% sure so he gave it up - possibly they had similar plays that were called blocks earlier and he went with that flow, though he was correct here. I'm thinking they would have discussed it in the locker room and an observer may have brought it up as well. Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
|||
Mea culpa, I did forget to include that caveat. Thanks to JMF!
__________________
![]() ![]() |
|
|||
The defendant was stationary upon contact but was still moving when A1 went airborne, imo.
Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
This isn't a screening play. Being "stationary" is not required and the player is allowed to be moving at the time of contact. The rules allow the defender to jump into the air vertically, or even turn or duck to absorb contact.
Please be precise, if you are going to make a judgment on this play. It's only about reaching a position on the court before the opponent becomes airborne. Don't fall into the misguided thinking that the defender must be a perfectly still statue to take a charge. |
|
|||
Quote:
Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
I don't understand how this factors into the analysis. How does it affect your call? Is it relevant in college? I don't see how it would be germane in HS, where LGP requires only two feet touching the court and the front of the torso facing the opponent. Or am I missing something?
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Duke vs Virginia Tech Charge Call (Video) | letemplay | Basketball | 32 | Fri Feb 27, 2015 04:53pm |
Video Request: Duke/Virginia | Jesse James | Basketball | 19 | Fri Mar 01, 2013 04:33pm |
MD/Duke BC call | buckrog64 | Basketball | 2 | Thu Mar 04, 2010 02:25pm |
Block/Charge Call in Miami v. Virginia | OFISHE8 | Basketball | 55 | Mon Jan 17, 2005 11:51am |
GT-Duke great no call | TriggerMN | Basketball | 21 | Fri Mar 05, 2004 09:19am |