The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 28, 2016, 01:37am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,764
Continuous/Upward Motion (Video)

What does everyone think about this play?



Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)

Last edited by JRutledge; Sun Feb 28, 2016 at 02:31am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 28, 2016, 04:22am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
I think it was very generous.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 28, 2016, 05:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,441
The foul was definitely after he gathered!


We had a few discussions on this forum centering around the act of shooting and gathering the ball. I consistently argued that the gather had nothing to do with starting the act of shooting, but that sentiment wasn't shared by several posters.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 28, 2016, 06:37am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,661
And One ...

In my high school game, he's in the act of shooting.

NFHS 4-11-2: If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she
is permitted to complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or
stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any
activity while holding the ball. These privileges are granted only when the usual
throwing motion has started before the foul occurs and before the ball is in flight.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 28, 2016, 06:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
In my high school game, he's in the act of shooting.

NFHS 4-11-2: If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she
is permitted to complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or
stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any
activity while holding the ball. These privileges are granted only when the usual
throwing motion has started before the foul occurs and before the ball is in flight.
At what point do you think that the player has started a try for goal?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 28, 2016, 07:27am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,661
Continuous Motion ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
At what point do you think that the player has started a try for goal?
At around the eleven second mark, the defender first puts his hand on the ball (legal), and then his opponent's hand (legal), and then his hand moves up to the wrist (illegal contact) of the ball handler, who had already started his the usual throwing motion when the illegal contact (foul) occurred. Hey, the commentators called it a "great call", and they're always correct. They're what you call experts. Right?
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Feb 28, 2016 at 07:32am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 28, 2016, 07:39am
Official & Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,366
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
...We had a few discussions on this forum centering around the act of shooting and gathering the ball. I consistently argued that the gather had nothing to do with starting the act of shooting, but that sentiment wasn't shared by several posters.
And this one should continue to fuel that debate. He definitely had gathered when the foul occurred, but...was he on his way up at that point? Had he started his "habitual shooting motion"? I believe he did...I'd score it and shoot one.
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 28, 2016, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 166
once you've gathered the ball in layup steps, it's in the act. criminal to take points off the board for the fouled time with a foul call when you can help it.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 28, 2016, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,499
HS shooting. NCAAM not shooting.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 28, 2016, 10:36am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,451
I don't understand all this talk about "gathering".

Billy cited the rule, and the word "gather", nor any other form of the word, appears. It's all about the official's judgment on when the player started the shooting motion.

Some will say he started that motion, some will say he hasn't. But thinking about it in terms of when he gathered the ball seems incorrect.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 28, 2016, 10:45am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,661
Other Rule Sets ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
I don't understand all this talk about "gathering".
Definitely not a NFHS rule but, maybe, it may be, or might have been, a NCAA, or NBA, rule?

The original video was an NCAA game.

Of course, being a journeyman high school basketball official, I know more about Epistemology than I do about NCAA basketball rules.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Feb 28, 2016 at 10:48am.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 28, 2016, 10:48am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,451
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Definitely not a NFHS rule but, maybe, it may be, or might have been, a NCAA, or NBA, rule?

The original video was an NCAA game.

Of course, being a journeyman high school basketball official, I know more about Metaphysics and Epistemology than I do about NCAA basketball rules.
This is true. My apologies.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 28, 2016, 11:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,499
NCAAM
Rule 5 Art 10
The try starts when the player begins the motion that normally precedes the release of the ball on a try. The ball does not need to leave the player's hand. the arm might be held so that the player cannot throw; however, he may be making an attempt.

Taking a step after the foul then attempting a shot is clearly not a motion preceding the release of the ball on a try. There have also been a video or 2 released showing this exact type of play and the required adjudication is not a shooting foul.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 28, 2016, 11:58am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
I don't understand all this talk about "gathering".

Billy cited the rule, and the word "gather", nor any other form of the word, appears. It's all about the official's judgment on when the player started the shooting motion.

Some will say he started that motion, some will say he hasn't. But thinking about it in terms of when he gathered the ball seems incorrect.
Rules also have philosophies. The actual rule never defines when the continuous motion starts and never has to my understanding. But there has been illustrations over the years (Used to be a older version of S&I book).

But to me you cannot start the motion until you gather or we are splitting hairs. But this was also a college play where they have defined more as to what should be a shot with the "upward motion" philosophy. I do not like that rule, but to me this player was not in his upward motion before the foul.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 28, 2016, 12:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 672
I think its possible, if not likely, that the officials pass on the initial foul that most are probably seeing. The last contact by 15 is, to me, clearly on the way up to the hoop, after all steps have been taken. If that's the one they decide to penalize, then I think there's no issue here. Based on when the officials react in the video, it seems likely to me that that is the call they are making.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Continous Motion (video request) Zoochy Basketball 0 Mon Jan 18, 2016 09:46pm
Continous motion (4.11) Live ball/Dead ball (6.7) Zoochy Basketball 1 Mon Jun 22, 2015 11:37pm
Upward Flight Johnny Ringo Basketball 18 Sun Aug 26, 2007 07:22pm
Anyone second the motion?? cowbyfan1 Football 1 Mon Jul 14, 2003 08:25am
Upward Basketball alabamabluezebra Basketball 15 Thu Jan 23, 2003 11:13pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1