The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 24, 2016, 02:41am
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
Would this be 2 Technicals

After team B is given a delay warning for water on the floor after a time-out, earlier in the game. B1 reaches through the throw-in plane and hits the ball in the thrower-ins hands. Would this be a tech for the second delay of game and for hitting the ball also?
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 24, 2016, 04:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Maeder View Post
After team B is given a delay warning for water on the floor after a time-out, earlier in the game. B1 reaches through the throw-in plane and hits the ball in the thrower-ins hands. Would this be a tech for the second delay of game and for hitting the ball also?
10.3.10 SITUATION D:
A1 is out of bounds for a throw-in. B1 reaches through the boundary plane and knocks the ball out of A1's hands. Earlier in the game, Team B had received a team warning for delay.
RULING: Even though Team B had already been issued a warning for team delay, when B1breaks the plane and subsequently contacts the ball in the thrower's hand, it is considered all the same act and the end result is penalized. A player technical foul is assessed to B1; two free throws and a division line throw-in for Team A will follow. The previous warning for team delay still applies with any subsequent team delay resulting in a team technical foul. (4-47; 9-2-10 Penalty 3; 10-1-5c)
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 24, 2016, 04:44am
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
Thank You pretty much sums it up.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 24, 2016, 08:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 177
Am I right in that it is a player T because he/she hit the ball while in the hand of the inbounder. It would have been a team T if it had been a plane violation.
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 24, 2016, 08:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by David M View Post
Am I right in that it is a player T because he/she hit the ball while in the hand of the inbounder. It would have been a team T if it had been a plane violation.
That is correct.
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 24, 2016, 08:07am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Would you say that breaking the plane of the OOB line is an immediate TF, and therefore any act following that (excluding flagrant fouls) is ignored? Leading to only one TF being called?
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 24, 2016, 08:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
Would you say that breaking the plane of the OOB line is an immediate TF, and therefore any act following that (excluding flagrant fouls) is ignored? Leading to only one TF being called?
Read the case play in post #2.
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 24, 2016, 08:15am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty View Post
Read the case play in post #2.
That says how to administer, not why. And I was curious about the "why".

Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 24, 2016, 08:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by David M View Post
Am I right in that it is a player T because he/she hit the ball while in the hand of the inbounder. It would have been a team T if it had been a plane violation.
Yes, that is correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
Would you say that breaking the plane of the OOB line is an immediate TF, and therefore any act following that (excluding flagrant fouls) is ignored? Leading to only one TF being called?
Nope, that is not how these plays are to be officiated. The NFHS has instructed officials to ajudge the total action.
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 24, 2016, 09:38am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Flagrant...or intentional.

Apples...and oranges.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two Technicals? referee99 Basketball 2 Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:21pm
2 Technicals cmhjordan23 Basketball 15 Tue Mar 06, 2012 11:25am
Technicals,Technicals! SCalScoreKeeper Basketball 6 Fri Jul 15, 2011 06:48am
Technicals? The New Guy Basketball 11 Sun Mar 19, 2006 04:11pm
Technicals ref1bal Basketball 9 Sun Mar 31, 2002 08:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1