Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Mar 30, 2002, 09:14pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via ICQ to ref1bal
Exclamation

I'm a bit confused lately.
When I hit someone with a technical not even mention eject someone, I always get the feeling when telling about it to my coleagues and/or regional managment that either:

A. That i'm a bad referee and if someone else was there their wouldn't be a need for T's.

B. I'm young an inexperienced and therefor hit T's too fast when They think I can solve the incident by talking it over.

It seems like they are looking for officals who don't make a mess (Hiting T's)

if you're an offical and can get a game over without hitting T's than you're a great Ref. but if you hit T's then you must have made a mess or called bad calls and therefor the game heated up.

Before each T' I call I get to think 10 times because "a Referee who calles T's is a Bad Referee"?

what do you people recommend? should I continue to do what I think is right no matter what the implications might me (quote from a team - "His a great Ref but we don't want him") or should I just get whatever I'm beeing thrown at?

Old Sat Mar 30, 2002, 09:31pm
Do not give a damn!!

Lightbulb 4 things to think about.

Quote:
Originally posted by ref1bal

what do you people recommend? should I continue to do what I think is right no matter what the implications might me (quote from a team - "His a great Ref but we don't want him") or should I just get whatever I'm beeing thrown at?

1. Be yourself--You and only you can decided what your tolerance for certain behavior is. You need to set some guidelines in your mind for things that are not clearly stated in the rulebook.