![]() |
|
|
|||
Iowa @ Penn State - Shooting Foul (Video)
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Eh, it's a tie. That goes to the offense. Ideally a no call would be better but I'm guessing that was a body took a weird spill and ate it call, so in the grand scheme of things not awful.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
Yes this is a secondary defender. The arc rule applies in block charges.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
Not sure about college rules, but does A1 get his head and shoulders past the torso of the B1 in this play?
4-7-2b. If a guard has obtained a legal guarding position, the player with the ball must get his/her head and shoulders past the torso of the defensive player. If contact occurs on the torso of the defensive player, the dribbler is responsible for the contact. |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
I'm with you. I happened to see it live and didn't think it was a foul. I still don't, though it would be an RA block if it was. The play looked ugly and awkward but that doesn't = illegal.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
|||
I'm not saying he did. The RA call is ONLY for block charges. I still don't think the contact warranted a foul. The call was more than likely because the offensive player took a funny spill as he lost the ball.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
What are you talking about? This is exactly the type of play the RA is about. The secondary defender is trying to take a charge. He is not attempting to block the shot. This is either an RA block or a no call. And good luck trying to explain why you went with a no call if that is the path you chose. Defender cannot establish legal guarding position within the RA, therefore, the unless you believe the contact is incidental, which it isn't, then you have to call a block foul. If you really think the RA doesn't apply in the situation in this video, you need to get back in the rule book, talk to some officials with more NCAA-M experience than you have, and watch some of the archived videos on the NCAA-M arbiter site.
Last edited by johnny d; Thu Feb 18, 2016 at 09:10pm. |
|
|||
I have a block with or without the RA.
The defender never got LGP. He got in the path and got two feet down, but didn't face the opponent....thus no LGP. And, the contact was on his side. The player didn't get to the spot first legally and displaced the shooter. Thus, it is a block.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
I should have watched the slo motion replays instead of stopping after the real time one. It's a good call. It's a block in any circumstance.
An RA call is usually done when an official would normally have a PC foul. Point to the RA and call a block. At least that's my understanding of the mechanic.
__________________
in OS I trust |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Penn State vs. Iowa GT/BI (Video request) | JRutledge | Basketball | 3 | Thu Mar 12, 2015 09:18pm |
Ohio State vs Penn State Offensive Foul Thoughts? (Video) | acgod24 | Basketball | 20 | Fri Mar 06, 2015 01:09am |
Oklahoma/Iowa State Act of Shooting? (Video) | bballref3966 | Basketball | 24 | Thu Mar 05, 2015 06:01pm |
Video Request -- Kansas State/Iowa State -- Block/Charge | VTOfficial | Basketball | 0 | Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:42pm |
Video Request - Penn State - Illinois | canuckrefguy | Basketball | 12 | Tue Jan 07, 2014 10:46pm |