The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Iowa @ Penn State - Shooting Foul (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100917-iowa-penn-state-shooting-foul-video.html)

JRutledge Thu Feb 18, 2016 04:45pm

Iowa @ Penn State - Shooting Foul (Video)
 
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/RcZxb44pLgQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

bballref3966 Thu Feb 18, 2016 05:06pm

Defender was legal before the shooter left the floor and did not violate verticality.

Not a foul, IMO.

deecee Thu Feb 18, 2016 05:11pm

Eh, it's a tie. That goes to the offense. Ideally a no call would be better but I'm guessing that was a body took a weird spill and ate it call, so in the grand scheme of things not awful.

Adam Thu Feb 18, 2016 05:22pm

I don't understand the rules of the arc, but is this a secondary defender?

deecee Thu Feb 18, 2016 05:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 981523)
I don't understand the rules of the arc, but is this a secondary defender?

Yes this is a secondary defender. The arc rule applies in block charges.

JRutledge Thu Feb 18, 2016 05:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 981523)
I don't understand the rules of the arc, but is this a secondary defender?

Yes this could apply, but I am wondering if this should have even been called?

Peace

#olderthanilook Thu Feb 18, 2016 05:45pm

Not sure about college rules, but does A1 get his head and shoulders past the torso of the B1 in this play?

4-7-2b. If a guard has obtained a legal guarding position, the player with the ball must get his/her head and shoulders past the torso of the defensive player. If contact occurs on the torso of the defensive player, the dribbler is responsible for the contact.

jpgc99 Thu Feb 18, 2016 08:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 981528)
Yes this could apply, but I am wondering if this should have even been called?

Peace

Watching on the small screen on my phone I have a RA block.

deecee Thu Feb 18, 2016 08:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jpgc99 (Post 981547)
Watching on the small screen on my phone I have a RA block.

You cannot have an RA block here. The RA is used in block/charge plays only and a secondary defender attempting to gain LGP, this wasn't that.

A defender can still go for a block shot and ALL contact in the RA IS NOT an automatic block.

Raymond Thu Feb 18, 2016 08:48pm

Huh? He made no attempt to block that shot. I have a block with no questions asked.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

deecee Thu Feb 18, 2016 08:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 981550)
Huh? He made no attempt to block that shot. I have a block with no questions asked.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

I'm not saying he did. The RA call is ONLY for block charges. I still don't think the contact warranted a foul. The call was more than likely because the offensive player took a funny spill as he lost the ball.

johnny d Thu Feb 18, 2016 09:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 981551)
I'm not saying he did. The RA call is ONLY for block charges. I still don't think the contact warranted a foul. The call was more than likely because the offensive player took a funny spill as he lost the ball.

What are you talking about? This is exactly the type of play the RA is about. The secondary defender is trying to take a charge. He is not attempting to block the shot. This is either an RA block or a no call. And good luck trying to explain why you went with a no call if that is the path you chose. Defender cannot establish legal guarding position within the RA, therefore, the unless you believe the contact is incidental, which it isn't, then you have to call a block foul. If you really think the RA doesn't apply in the situation in this video, you need to get back in the rule book, talk to some officials with more NCAA-M experience than you have, and watch some of the archived videos on the NCAA-M arbiter site.

Camron Rust Thu Feb 18, 2016 09:22pm

I have a block with or without the RA.

The defender never got LGP. He got in the path and got two feet down, but didn't face the opponent....thus no LGP. And, the contact was on his side. The player didn't get to the spot first legally and displaced the shooter. Thus, it is a block.

deecee Thu Feb 18, 2016 10:18pm

I should have watched the slo motion replays instead of stopping after the real time one. It's a good call. It's a block in any circumstance.

An RA call is usually done when an official would normally have a PC foul. Point to the RA and call a block. At least that's my understanding of the mechanic.

bob jenkins Thu Feb 18, 2016 10:20pm

Defender is still straightening up / moving forward with the body when the offense leaves the ground.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1