The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2016, 02:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty View Post
It is not within the allowed time period to correct. The reason is that once Team B scored, that was the first dead ball after the error and that would have been the time limit when you could have corrected it. Once Team A inbounded the ball, it was too late to correct. I know this because it bit me in the ass last year...
OK.. so let's say the table buzzed the horn immediately after the basket by B before A inbounded the all. At that time it would have been within the timeframe.

The enforcement would be to shoot the free throws with the lane cleared... resume play at point of interruption with Team A entitled to a throw in on the endline entitled to run the endline.

correct??
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2016, 02:45pm
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by BEAREF View Post
OK.. so let's say the table buzzed the horn immediately after the basket by B before A inbounded the all. At that time it would have been within the timeframe.

The enforcement would be to shoot the free throws with the lane cleared... resume play at point of interruption with Team A entitled to a throw in on the endline entitled to run the endline.

correct??
Mostly correct. It's not before the ball was in-bounded, but when the official judged the ball to be at the thrower's disposal.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2016, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by BEAREF View Post
OK.. so let's say the table buzzed the horn immediately after the basket by B before A inbounded the all. At that time it would have been within the timeframe.

The enforcement would be to shoot the free throws with the lane cleared... resume play at point of interruption with Team A entitled to a throw in on the endline entitled to run the endline.

correct??
The timeframe has to do with dead balls and live balls. Nothing to do with the time.

You have until the ball becomes live AFTER the first dead ball AFTER the error was made. The made basket causes the ball to be dead (so would a violation or foul). However the ball then becomes live once "at the disposal" of the new offensive team.

Say in your scenario I would be a bit liberal with "at the disposal" to fix an error. Your assessment is correct with how to adjudicate.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2016, 04:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
The timeframe has to do with dead balls and live balls. Nothing to do with the time.

You have until the ball becomes live AFTER the first dead ball AFTER the error was made. The made basket causes the ball to be dead (so would a violation or foul). However the ball then becomes live once "at the disposal" of the new offensive team.

Say in your scenario I would be a bit liberal with "at the disposal" to fix an error. Your assessment is correct with how to adjudicate.
Time matters. Rule says must correct during first dead ball AFTER the clock has properly started. If in this Op the ball is handed to thrower in after the foul, ball becomes live. Say foul ocurrs while thrower in has ball. That makes ball dead. Hand ball to for new throwin. Ball live again. Original error still correctable because clock has not started.

Time is very important.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2016, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
Time matters. Rule says must correct during first dead ball AFTER the clock has properly started. If in this Op the ball is handed to thrower in after the foul, ball becomes live. Say foul ocurrs while thrower in has ball. That makes ball dead. Hand ball to for new throwin. Ball live again. Original error still correctable because clock has not started.

Time is very important.
You are correct. I was not clear in that time stopping or not does not dictate the status of the ball. I was just looking at this example but yes the clock needs to start for evaluating the CE period.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
correctable error situation billyu2 Basketball 5 Tue Nov 20, 2012 03:05pm
Correctable error situation? Scrapper1 Basketball 42 Thu Sep 18, 2008 10:40pm
Correctable error situation VaCoach Basketball 2 Sat Nov 17, 2007 06:37pm
Correctable Error Situation eckert Basketball 2 Fri Dec 09, 2005 11:38am
Correctable error situation? mrsref Basketball 6 Mon Jan 31, 2000 11:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1