![]() |
|
|
|||
Correctable error situation?
This supposedly actually happened, although I didn't see it myself. Just want to see what people think about it.
4th quarter, 3.5 seconds remaining. Team A is leading 54-52. A1 is fouled, but not in the act of shooting. Team A is in the bonus. A1 attempts the free throw, which is unsuccessful. B5 rebounds the miss, outlets to B1 near midcourt. B1 releases a try (obviously a 3-point try). The horn sounds clearly after the ball is in flight, and the try is successful. Team B appears to win 55-54. Before the officials leave the court, the table informs the officials that Team B had 10 team fouls and A1 should've been awarded 2 free throws. The officials decide that the error is correctable. They disallow the 3-point basket, put 3.5 seconds back on the clock, and award A1 the second free throw. They allow the teams to play the make or miss. A1's second free throw is unsuccessful, B5 rebounds the miss and passes to B1, but B1's heave is unsuccessful this time. Team A wins, 54-52. 1) Was the error still correctable, since the horn had sounded to end the game? 2) If so, should the officials have negated B1's 3-point field goal? 3) If so, should the officials have put the time back on the clock? 4) If you answer "no" to any of these, what should have happened? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
You Mean That I Didn't Really Foul Out? You're A Great Referee ...
Quote:
2-10-4: If the error is a free throw by the wrong player or at the wrong basket, or the awarding of an unmerited free throw, the free throw and the activity during it, other than unsporting, flagrant, intentional or technical fouls, shall be canceled.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Quote:
2)No..as per rule 2-10-5. 3) No..as per rule 2-10-5. Count the 3-point basket by B1. Put A1 on the line for 1 FT with no time on the clock and no one lined up on the lanes. If A1 makes the FT, OT. If A1 misses, team B wins 55-54. It's true, it's true..... Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Mon Sep 15, 2008 at 11:12am. |
|
|||
Quote:
Shoulda let A1 shoot his second FT with no time and lanes empty. Make it for OT...miss it, and officials grab their coats and sprint to the locker room. |
|
|||
Quote:
Agree with JR's and Chi1towns's responses. Iirc, the only time points would be cancelled would be if an unmerited FT was awarded, or the wrong player attempted the FT. Scrappy, was this a HS or college game?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by Nevadaref; Mon Sep 15, 2008 at 06:46pm. |
|
|||
Stripper's Dressing Room
Quote:
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Sep 15, 2008 at 09:34pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
If you're a 5x5 ft room and there were 6 people in there you would have a small crowd, right?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Correctable Error FT Situation | reddevil19 | Basketball | 10 | Fri Jan 25, 2008 09:56am |
Correctable Error Situation | eckert | Basketball | 2 | Fri Dec 09, 2005 11:38am |
Another correctable error situation... | thumpferee | Basketball | 9 | Mon Feb 09, 2004 09:37am |
Correctable Error Situation | drinkeii | Basketball | 3 | Sun Jan 27, 2002 10:01pm |
Correctable error situation? | mrsref | Basketball | 6 | Mon Jan 31, 2000 11:43pm |