The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2016, 12:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post
Eh. Not really. Especially as a dribbler it better be clear it's not a controlled dribble.

1) You can't dribble, step on an out of bounds line, come back in and dribble again. This is a violation. The only exceptions are being off-balance/taking a shot and momentum carrying you out of bounds and coming back in for rebound/etc.

2) Running OOB can also be judged as a violation.

The 'tap ahead' in this play could very well be judged a dribble. It's a violation if it's touched by the same player first.
If you are dribbling the ball it is a violation the moment you step on the line. the coming back in/first to touch stuff doesn't matter. You have player control. If it is an interrupted dribble there is no player control. If you run out of bounds of your own volition you have committed a leaving the floor for unauthorized reason violation.

If the dribble was interrupted, and your momentum makes you step out of bounds all you have to do is reestablish yourself inbounds. one foot inbounds with the other in the air is enough. you can go continue the dribble then.

In this case maybe the "tap ahead" was done underhanded. If the hand was under the ball the dribble ended. Dribbling it again would be double dribble. just a thought.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2016, 01:01pm
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
In this case maybe the "tap ahead" was done underhanded. If the hand was under the ball the dribble ended. Dribbling it again would be double dribble. just a thought.
I've never heard this before. Why has the dribble ended if the hand was under the ball? Players can dribble by hitting under the ball, but they just have to wait until it hits the floor every time to touch the ball again.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2016, 01:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post
I've never heard this before. Why has the dribble ended if the hand was under the ball? Players can dribble by hitting under the ball, but they just have to wait until it hits the floor every time to touch the ball again.
I was thinking that maybe he saw a hand under the ball and thought it came to rest for a moment.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2016, 01:57pm
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
I was thinking that maybe he saw a hand under the ball and thought it came to rest for a moment.
Ahh, gotcha. Then the official made the right call.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2016, 01:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post
Ahh, gotcha. Then the official made the right call.
Or the most obvious answer is that it's a 7th grade game and the official isn't exactly Dick Bavetta.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2016, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
In this case maybe the "tap ahead" was done underhanded. If the hand was under the ball the dribble ended. Dribbling it again would be double dribble. just a thought.
Incorrect. Having the hand under the ball does not end the dribble. It is legal for the hand to be under the ball and continue to dribble if the ball isn't caught. Having the hand under the ball doesn't equate the ball being caught. It could be batted/tapped.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2016, 02:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Incorrect. Having the hand under the ball does not end the dribble. It is legal for the hand to be under the ball and continue to dribble if the ball isn't caught. Having the hand under the ball doesn't equate the ball being caught. It could be batted/tapped.
I know i didn't say it right. cleared it up in a subsequent post. If the ball comes to rest, for even a moment, the dribble is over. I was trying to say this may be what official thought he saw etc
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double dribble tref Basketball 13 Fri Feb 18, 2011 01:05pm
Double Dribble or..... CMHCoachNRef Basketball 15 Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:27am
Double Dribble? Johnny Ringo Basketball 12 Wed Apr 08, 2009 05:54pm
Is it Double Dribble? remargo Basketball 18 Sun Feb 10, 2008 01:29pm
Double Dribble fredcamp Basketball 3 Sun Jan 30, 2005 02:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1