Thread: Double Dribble?
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 23, 2016, 11:32pm
wrigleywannabe wrigleywannabe is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 9
Double Dribble?

There is a loose ball after a rebound. Player A runs to the ball and begins dribbling. She never picks the ball up, simply starts dribbling "off the bounce".

After two dribbles, the ball slips away toward the sideline. The same player taps the ball ahead, to avoid it going out of bounds.

She remains fully inbounds, runs to the ball before anyone else touches it and starts another dribble "off the bounce".

One referee calls double dribble.

The explanation I was given was, the two dribbles showed control and when she tapped it ahead, she could now pick it up with both hands, but could nto dribble.

That makes no sense to me. The only thing I can think of is, someone where along the line, the referee thought she grabbed it with both hands, although I have no idea where.

He was standing with a clear view of the play.

Am I missing some part of a rule that would cause what she did to be a violation?
Reply With Quote