The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 12:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Post regulation tech

Would like some input on a situation. Post regulation tech when game is tied is shot to start the OT. But a tech on a team that is leading by a point is shot as part of fourth quarter? Seems a little bizarre. Would be better to be tied than up by a point? Maybe I am just reading it wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 12:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,460
You are correct.
The rationale is that there is no way to know if the extra period will be necessary when the game isn't tied unless the FTs are attempted immediately.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 01:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Thanks for the confirmation. Seems like to be consistent, that if they tied it up, the next ft would start OT. But it is a rare play so...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 02:04am
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gish View Post
Thanks for the confirmation. Seems like to be consistent, that if they tied it up, the next ft would start OT. But it is a rare play so...
Am I reading this right?

If the first FT is made you want to count it then shoot the second at the start of OT?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 03:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,717
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gish View Post
Thanks for the confirmation. Seems like to be consistent, that if they tied it up, the next ft would start OT. But it is a rare play so...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post
Am I reading this right?

If the first FT is made you want to count it then shoot the second at the start of OT?
The FTs are either both part of the 4th or part of OT depending on whether the score is tied when the T occurs.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 08:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gish View Post
Thanks for the confirmation. Seems like to be consistent, that if they tied it up, the next ft would start OT. But it is a rare play so...
"No penalty or part of a penalty carries over from one quarter or extra period to the next, except when a correctable error, as in 2-10, is rectified."

If the foul occurs in the fourth period, the penalty occurs in the fourth period. If the foul occurs in the OT, the penalty occurs in the OT.

If the score is tied, the fourth period ends and the OT begins when the ball becomes dead at the end of the fourth. If the score is not tied, the fourth period continues until either the officials leave the visual confines or the score has become tied, there are no further penalties to enforce, and the ball is dead.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gish View Post
Would like some input on a situation. Post regulation tech when game is tied is shot to start the OT. But a tech on a team that is leading by a point is shot as part of fourth quarter? Seems a little bizarre. Would be better to be tied than up by a point? Maybe I am just reading it wrong.
On the surface it does seem like a bit of a loophole in a rule, but when you think about it, and you read Nevada and Altor's comments, it really actually is consistent with the way the rules are written. May seem odd, but is ultimately fair.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 09:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altor View Post
"No penalty or part of a penalty carries over from one quarter or extra period to the next, except when a correctable error, as in 2-10, is rectified."

If the foul occurs in the fourth period, the penalty occurs in the fourth period. If the foul occurs in the OT, the penalty occurs in the OT.

If the score is tied, the fourth period ends and the OT begins when the ball becomes dead at the end of the fourth. If the score is not tied, the fourth period continues until either the officials leave the visual confines or the score has become tied, there are no further penalties to enforce, and the ball is dead.
Strictly speaking the extra period doesn't begin until the ball becomes live at the start of it. That could be either upon the release of the toss for a jumpball or putting the ball at the disposal of a free thrower.

While you may wish to think of everything after the end of the 4th quarter as part of the OT to help you with administration, you would be incorrect in a few situations. Notification of a scoring error or a CE situation prior to the ball becoming live in the extra period would be two such situations.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 11:18am
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
The FTs are either both part of the 4th or part of OT depending on whether the score is tied when the T occurs.
Didn't need clarification, we all know this -- or should. Sounded like this is what he wanted to do.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 11:26am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post
Didn't need clarification, we all know this -- or should. Sounded like this is what he wanted to do.
Camron also hinted at the reasoning for the discrepancy. No need to tell him what's needed and what's not.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 11:26am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Bottom line is, don't get a technical foul after time expires.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 11:45am
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Camron also hinted at the reasoning for the discrepancy. No need to tell him what's needed and what's not.
There was no discrepancy. I wanted to know why he thought 1 shot in 4th and in 1 in OT was "consistent" if that was indeed what he was saying. I didn't need to know the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 01:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 172
I found the reference if the team winning by one gets a T after regulation, you shoot the shots as part of the 4th quarter to determine if OT is necessary.

I can't find a T in a tie game at the end of regulation. ??????

I found the case of a T of a player dunking after a quarter and starting the next quarter with the shots.

10.3.3 SITUATION D: Only a few seconds remain in the second quarter. Team A is advancing the ball from backcourt to frontcourt. A1 is driving toward his/her basket and is about to dunk the ball when the signal indicates the end of the first half. Shortly after the signal, A1 dunks the ball and hangs on to the rim. RULING: A1 is assessed a technical foul for dunking a dead ball. The foul is also charged indirectly to the head coach and results in the loss of coaching-box privileges since A1 is considered bench personnel. The third quarter begins with Team B being awarded two free throws and the ball at the division line. The alternating-possession arrow is not affected and remains unchanged. (4-34-2; 5-6-2 Exception 4)

Would this apply to a tied game going into OT? Or is there a rule reference I am missing?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 01:29pm
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by pfan1981 View Post
I can't find a T in a tie game at the end of regulation. ??????
There's at least one case play with this scenario.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 01:44pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post
There was no discrepancy. I wanted to know why he thought 1 shot in 4th and in 1 in OT was "consistent" if that was indeed what he was saying. I didn't need to know the rule.
And Camron's point was in response to the OP, even though he included your post in his answer. He was adding to your answer, not really talking to you. Regardless, I've made my point and rather than hijack the thread I'll drop it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pitching regulation chapmaja Softball 3 Mon Jun 23, 2014 11:08pm
Team tech or bench tech? ronny mulkey Basketball 1 Mon Nov 11, 2013 01:34pm
Technical after regulation chicodork Basketball 6 Sun Mar 03, 2013 05:13pm
Time out-end of regulation? hugheske44 Basketball 12 Sun Jan 31, 2010 08:24pm
3-Player Regulation Bruce Ralston Volleyball 1 Thu Jan 13, 2005 12:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1