![]() |
|
|
|||
POE question...
So, here in Michigan they have been pushing this POE for the free throw shooter. My group of officials I feel are mixed up. Their interpretation of the rule is...
If an opposing team player makes contact with free throw shooter before it hits the rim it's is an intentional foul. I can't find it any where. I think it is just a violation but I'm the newbie. Help |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
http://nfhs.org/sports-resource-cont...tions-2015-16/
Your officials wouldn't be confused if they read material that the NFHS publishes. |
|
|||
Print the Interpretations page from the NFHS website. Don't know how it can be any clearer than that.
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
"Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible." – Dalai Lama The center of attention as the lead & trail. – me Games officiated: 525 Basketball · 76 Softball · 16 Baseball |
|
|||
Quote:
Now I am confused. How could incidental contact ever be a foul? MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
In Illinois it is a violation when defender breaks plane of free throw line before ball hits etc. if the player continues and makes contact w ft shooter we judge incidental, common foul, or intentional based on what we see. The Poe language is a mess and you won't find this anywhere in rule book. You need to check w your state to see what it is doing. There are threads on this if you want to read more. Search free throw Poe....
|
|
|||
Mess Is A Polite Word, I Can Think Of Others ...
Silly NFHS monkeys.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Stupid NFHS Monkeys ...
Quote:
Is incidental one of the NFHS approved choices, or is any contact an automatic foul (like a defender making contact with an inbounder)? Clarification Preseason Guide Article “Enforce Illegal Contact on Free Thrower and Violations During Free Throw”, page 6, second paragraph: The free thrower must remain within the free throw semi-circle until the ball contacts the basket ring or the shot is made or missed. The same rule applies to all other players who do not occupy free throw lane line marked spaces. Players who occupy free throw lane line marked spaces during free throws may enter the free-throw lane upon the free thrower releasing the ball; however, should a defensive player cross the free-throw line too soon, it is a violation. A delayed violation signal is to be displayed. If the free throw is successful, the violation is ignored. If a defender contacts the free thrower, a personal foul is the correct ruling. If the free throw is unsuccessful, the violation is enforced and a substitute free throw is awarded. If a defender contacts the free thrower, a personal foul is the correct ruling. Whether the free throw is or is not successful, the penalty for the personal foul is awarded. If the free thrower’s team is in a bonus situation, the free thrower would be awarded a one-and-one or two free throws. If the free thrower’s team is not in a bonus situation, his or her team would be awarded a throw-in along the end line. Comment: Rule 9-1 does not address the issue of players, other than the free thrower during the free throw, entering the semi-circle. The national interpretation on this issue is during the free throw, anyone entering the semi-circle has created a violation. If it is a team member who violates, the ball should be blown dead immediately. If an opponent violates, it is a delayed lane violation and the free thrower should be awarded a substitute throw if the free throw is missed. SITUATION 1: The opponent makes contact with the free-throw shooter before the free throw reaches the basket. The free throw is missed. RULING: The official should rule a violation on the opponent and a personal foul. (9-1-2g Penalty 2b) SITUATION 2: After A1 releases the ball on a free throw try, B1 steps into the lane and backs across the free-throw line to box out the free-throw shooter then makes contact with the free-throw shooter. The free throw is missed. RULING: The official should rule a delayed violation on the opponent. A1 will be awarded a substitute free throw and the contact is ruled a foul. The substitute free throw would be administered with the free-throw lane spaces unoccupied. (9-1-2g Penalty 2b)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Jan 05, 2016 at 07:12am. |
|
|||
Their clarification could use some clarification....wasn't the original intent of this to ensure that a FT shooter was not getting "boxed out" without being able to protect themselves? In my opinion, we should be looking for contact with the shooter first and then contact with the actual semi-circle. Simply waving my arm across the plane without contact is not what we are looking for here...but I could see where others may see this differently.
__________________
"They don't play the game because we show up to officiate it" |
|
|||
Quote:
In the end he said, "just follow the rules and defend your decisions as such." I have. In other words, IMO such a foul is not intentional unless it meets the criteria for an intentional foul (which would most likely be excessive contact in this situation, e.g. "bowling over" the shooter with an overly aggressive box-out). Merely entering the circle and fouling the shooter is not automatically an IF. IOW, I respectfully disagree with my interpreter. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Balk Question and Base Abandonment Question | easygoer | Baseball | 7 | Fri May 23, 2014 11:11am |
A question on a play and a mechanics question. | aevans410 | Baseball | 11 | Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am |
two questions - start of half question and free throw question | hoopguy | Basketball | 6 | Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm |
Rule Question and Mechanics Question | Stair-Climber | Softball | 15 | Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am |
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question | CoaachJF | Basketball | 15 | Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm |