![]() |
POE question...
So, here in Michigan they have been pushing this POE for the free throw shooter. My group of officials I feel are mixed up. Their interpretation of the rule is...
If an opposing team player makes contact with free throw shooter before it hits the rim it's is an intentional foul. I can't find it any where. I think it is just a violation but I'm the newbie. Help |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
That's what I'm getting but can't find it in the rule book or POE section. All the higher up officials are disagreeing and I would love to prove them wrong.
|
http://nfhs.org/sports-resource-cont...tions-2015-16/
Your officials wouldn't be confused if they read material that the NFHS publishes. |
Quote:
In the end he said, "just follow the rules and defend your decisions as such." I have. In other words, IMO such a foul is not intentional unless it meets the criteria for an intentional foul (which would most likely be excessive contact in this situation, e.g. "bowling over" the shooter with an overly aggressive box-out). Merely entering the circle and fouling the shooter is not automatically an IF. IOW, I respectfully disagree with my interpreter. |
In Illinois it is a violation when defender breaks plane of free throw line before ball hits etc. if the player continues and makes contact w ft shooter we judge incidental, common foul, or intentional based on what we see. The Poe language is a mess and you won't find this anywhere in rule book. You need to check w your state to see what it is doing. There are threads on this if you want to read more. Search free throw Poe....
|
I will be showing them all this. It's an epidemic here. EVERYONE is calling it a intentional because we have associations teaching guys this. I was present in a meeting when it was happening.
|
If the player boxing out completely takes out the shooter then of course it's an intentional but if it's a common box out it should be a common foul IMO
|
Quote:
|
Question: Team A is shooting free throws. Team B enter before ball hits the rim makes contact before. You get the foul Team A is in the bonus. Do they get the replacement and a 1 and 1???
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
*This is admittedly a bit silly since you're just going to fill the lane back up for the one-and-one with the same shooter on the line....but it's the correct procedure by rule since the ball is to become dead after the substitute free throw (false multiple foul situation). |
What I said was perfectly understandable!! Really that's one thing I struggle with on the court with right now is 'proper' wording when speaking to coaches or other officials. So yes you are correct. My bad.
|
Quote:
I will preface my remarks with a mea culpa. Mark, Jr., and I are registered by both OhioHSAA and MichiganHSAA. Since we live in Ohio we are not required to complete the MichiganHSAA Online State Rules Meeting; usually I will complete it but did not do it this year, therefore I cannot speak as to what Nate Hampton, the MichiganHSAA State Rules Interpretator, discussed in the Online Meeting. But, Nate Hampton is also the NFHS Section 4 Representative on the NFHS Basketball Rules Committee and there should be no confusion in the State of Michigan. That said, there have been a couple of times over the years when Nate and I have had disagreements over interpretations involving new rules, and he came up lacking in my opinion. MTD, Sr. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05pm. |