![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|||
UK vs Louisville--Shot Clock Violation in Final Minute-Reset Clock?
Kentucky got the ball back with 43.1 seconds left in regulation. They are called for a shot clock violation. Never even got an attempt off. Whistle blows and clock stops with 12.6 seconds left.
Can the officials reset the clock to 13.1 based on definite knowledge of the 43.1 on the clock when UK got the ball? Any allowance for video review in this situation to set the clock properly?
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!! |
|
|||
This is not an official NCAA reply. But I will say this: if I'm officiating in CA, RI, SD, etc., and this happens in my game.....to me that's definite knowledge and great heads-up officiating, provided we had a situation where the game and shot clocks started simultaneously (e.g. on a throw-in). Yeah, I'd put the 0.5s back on.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Great point. So given that PC is a subjective assessment by the SC operator, maybe my situation does not equate to definite knowledge. I am willing to stand corrected. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
|
|||
When coming from a throw-in, the shot clock starts when it's legally touched inbounds
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Not saying you're wrong, but mind if I ask why? Assuming SC on throw-in starts when legally touched in CA (same rule that APG cites), why not take this into consideration as definite knowledge? Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
|
|||
Quote:
In the CIF modifications document on the shot clock the following appears, [the shot clock operator shall] "Sound the shot-clock horn at the expiration of the shot-clock period. This shot-clock horn shall not stop play unless recognized by an official’s whistle." So the whistle is what matters to the players and timer(s), not the horn, and according to NFHS rules that is when the timer is to stop the game clock. Therefore, if the timer stopped the game clock upon the sounding of the official's whistle and not the horn, no obvious timing error has occurred and the referee is not justified in altering the game clock. The game clock does not automatically stop at the sounding of the shot clock horn, even when no try for goal is involved. Just as is the case for a travel or a foul, if the official's whistle lags the exact moment of the violation or foul, by rule, the game clock stops a little bit after the violation or foul. CA high school officials do not have a courtside monitor and therefore cannot restore the game clock to the exact time of the violation or foul as is done in NCAA contests. Officials working HS games need to adhere to HS rules, not college rulings. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Shot Clock Reset? | All_Heart | Basketball | 4 | Wed Feb 22, 2006 09:24am |
Shot clock reset? | wfd21 | Basketball | 2 | Mon Jan 23, 2006 01:52pm |
Reset Shot Clock? | jcurtin | Basketball | 1 | Wed Dec 22, 2004 08:54am |
Final minute clock stoppage question | rulesmaven | Basketball | 15 | Tue Apr 06, 2004 09:28pm |
shot clock reset? | Nevadaref | Basketball | 4 | Sun Mar 30, 2003 03:53am |