![]() |
|
|
|||
Apparently not.
Quote:
The situation you referred to above on receiving a pass is defined as a "muff". A dribble, as you want to call it, is a deliberate action. Not accidental.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
I would have a hard time calling a play like this anything other than a violation. If the ball went far enough away that he had to take several steps to retrieve it, he more than likely voluntarily released the pass.
|
|
|||
Quote:
If you judge pass right away, go ahead and call ID in this situation. If you're not sure, to say that you would call a violation anyway based on the fact that it was "more than likely" a pass is guessing. Guessing on calls will not separate you. Ever. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Let's Go To The Videotape ...
Quote:
slaps the ball toward A’s basket; or (b) A2 muffs the pass. In both situations. A2 then gains control and dribbles to the basket and scores. RULING: No violation in either (a) or (b). 4.44 SITUATION A: A1 attempts to catch the ball while running rapidly. A1 muffs the ball, but succeeds in securing it before it strikes the floor. A1 then begins a dribble, taking several steps between the time the ball was first touched until it was caught. RULING: There has been no violation provided A1, after catching the ball, released the ball to start the dribble before the pivot foot was lifted from the floor. (4-15) 9.1.1 SITUATION: A1, at the free-throw line to attempt a free throw: (a) muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) while performing his/her habitual dribbles prior to the release, accidentally allows the ball to deflect off his/her foot into the lane. RULING: In (a), the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again. No freethrow violation should be called in this situation. In (b), a free-throw violation shall be called on A1. (9-1-3a, e) 9.2.1 SITUATION B: A1, out of bounds for a designated spot throw-in: (a) muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) after receiving the ball from the official, fumbles the ball and leaves the designated spot to retrieve the fumble. RULING: In (a), the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the throw-in procedure again. No throw-in violation should be called in this situation. In (b), a throw-in violation shall be called on A1 for leaving the designated spot.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Dec 23, 2015 at 07:27am. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Where is this in rule book? I don't think you should use this as a base for your defense. You should stick to your judgement that it was a pass (and thus a violation) while acknowledging the OP, and others in that sitch, COULD have seen a fumble.
|
|
|||
Yep, it's judgment. There is nothing in the rule book that shows either side is wrong.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
Deecee stated earlier that if a player changes his mind on the pass, tries to hold it, but it still "pops out" he is going with the original intent of the player. "Pops out" here means "slips" to me. Original intent can be helpful in determining what the player was doing but, if the ball slips out, it is a fumble. The OP also said it was a fumble. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Insisting that it's impossible to begin a pass, change one's mind, and then fumble the ball - thus ruling anything remotely like the OP an illegal dribble - is the call of least resistance. It will keep coaches, fans, players off your back... but it won't impress your supervisors should they see this or hear of it.
You decide what kind of official you'd rather be. I would think that even after 15 years, one can still learn. The day I know everything in any sport is the day I should hang 'em up.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Agree completely. The judgment is deciding if it slipped or not. That was the first thing I mentioned in that post. Once you decide it slipped, judgment is over. it is a fumble. Again, Deecee seem to acknowledge that the ball slipped, "pop out" i think he used, but still said it was a pass. That is where the issue is.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Can't think straight...need assistance | egj13 | Basketball | 14 | Tue Dec 22, 2015 02:36pm |
Don't get yourself straight-lined! | briancurtin | Baseball | 19 | Sat May 05, 2012 09:25am |
Just the T, or straight to the bench? | Lukester | Basketball | 19 | Thu Feb 09, 2012 04:32pm |
straight arm | Texoma_LJ | Football | 4 | Mon Jul 04, 2005 09:20am |
Straight Up | rainmaker | Basketball | 10 | Wed Feb 02, 2005 06:02pm |