The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 21, 2015, 06:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandylow View Post
Bas2456

That is correct, Team A played the ball in from the side, and after catching the ball player A1 fell over the ball to stop team B getting at the ball for the last few seconds of the game.

Cameron

Thank you, so no rule broken, but maybe a travel.....as for smart maybe, but as this was U14 and full of young kids (between 11-14) still learning the game and the rules, this was purely the coaches call, having called the time out as soon as the ball went out of play (and overheard from my position as the scorer telling the kids how to play it).

As for the 6th team foul (for the quarter), here that will send team A to the free throw line for two shots.....so either way team B couldn't win.

Thanks again for the answers, this is the first time I have seen this happen.

Buz
Team B still could have fouled and had a chance. Teams do that all the time. The odds might not be great but team A might miss one or both FTs and then B would have a few seconds left to try to make a field goal.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2015, 04:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Do an Internet search for video of the final seconds of the Georgetown v Villanova 1985 NCAA Championship Game.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 23, 2015, 03:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Do an Internet search for video of the final seconds of the Georgetown v Villanova 1985 NCAA Championship Game.
Nevadaref

Thank you for the suggested video. That is almost the same as what happened in the OP game, only difference was the player took possession first before falling to the ground.

Thanks again guys, you live and learn.

Sandylow
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 23, 2015, 10:27am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Team A inbounded the ball and A1 caught the ball, then fell to the ground? If so it is a traveling violation and Team B gets a throw in.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2015, 08:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Team B still could have fouled and had a chance. Teams do that all the time. The odds might not be great but team A might miss one or both FTs and then B would have a few seconds left to try to make a field goal.

See Memphis v Kansas, 2008 NC game as reference (a).

Sorry, John. Gotta make your free throws.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2015, 01:20pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Surroundsound ???

Could the original poster be confusing his situation with this one:

9.10.1 SITUATION D: Team A, while in possession of the ball in its frontcourt:
(a) positions four players parallel with the sideline and they pass the ball from one
to another with their arms reaching beyond the sideline plane; or (b) has four
teammates surround dribbler A1. In both (a) and (b), the opponents are unable
to get close to the ball. RULING: This is considered to be a closely-guarded
situation and a violation in five seconds in both (a) and (b), if any B player is
within 6 feet of the ball or within 6 feet of the screening teammates and is
attempting to gain control of the ball. Preventing opponents from getting to the
ball by using screening teammates becomes a violation in five seconds if the
opponents are attempting to gain control.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2015, 02:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Even if the player remained on his/her feet, it isn't hard to cover the ball so completely by wrapping it up with the arms that the other team can't get to it without fouling.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for clarification Rufus Baseball 12 Thu Apr 23, 2009 06:55am
Clarification Ch1town Basketball 5 Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:22pm
Clarification David B Baseball 6 Tue Feb 13, 2007 12:42pm
HBP clarification please MisterV Softball 2 Mon May 10, 2004 09:45am
clarification on a situation, please jcor Baseball 4 Fri Jun 29, 2001 07:56am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1