The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Clarification of situation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100376-clarification-situation.html)

sandylow Sat Nov 21, 2015 02:13am

Clarification of situation
 
Could someone please clarify a situation for me that occurred today in a local competition. There are quite a number of points of view over this, however I was hoping someone can give the exact ruling (If any rule was broken at all).

With approx 5 secs on the clock, team A were 2 points up. Team B took the ball out of bounds, so team A played the ball in (no issue so far). However as soon as team A took control of the ball the player dropped to the ground and wrapped his body over the ball, making no attempt to play the remaining secs out.

No ruling was made even though Team B attempted to get the ball but couldn't place their hands on the player for fear of drawing a foul (would have been the 6th team foul).

So was any rule broken by team A or just very poor sportmanship?

Best regards and thank you in advance.

Buz

bas2456 Sat Nov 21, 2015 02:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by sandylow (Post 970275)
Could someone please clarify a situation for me that occurred today in a local competition. There are quite a number of points of view over this, however I was hoping someone can give the exact ruling (If any rule was broken at all).

With approx 5 secs on the clock, team A were 2 points up. Team B took the ball out of bounds, so team A played the ball in (no issue so far). However as soon as team A took control of the ball the player dropped to the ground and wrapped his body over the ball, making no attempt to play the remaining secs out.

No ruling was made even though Team B attempted to get the ball but couldn't place their hands on the player for fear of drawing a foul (would have been the 6th team foul).

So was any rule broken by team A or just very poor sportmanship?

Best regards and thank you in advance.

Buz

Clarifying your request for clarification...

Team B caused the ball to go out of bounds, so Team A made the ensuing throw in? And you're saying that after Player A1 caught the inbounds pass he dropped to the floor with the ball and covered it up?

Am I reading that correctly?

Camron Rust Sat Nov 21, 2015 02:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by sandylow (Post 970275)
Could someone please clarify a situation for me that occurred today in a local competition. There are quite a number of points of view over this, however I was hoping someone can give the exact ruling (If any rule was broken at all).

With approx 5 secs on the clock, team A were 2 points up. Team B took the ball out of bounds, so team A played the ball in (no issue so far). However as soon as team A took control of the ball the player dropped to the ground and wrapped his body over the ball, making no attempt to play the remaining secs out.

No ruling was made even though Team B attempted to get the ball but couldn't place their hands on the player for fear of drawing a foul (would have been the 6th team foul).

So was any rule broken by team A or just very poor sportmanship?

Best regards and thank you in advance.

Buz

Assuming you mean team A somehow stole the ball as or after it was the thrown in...

Bizarre, but smart play IF the player that dropped to the floor was not holding the ball before falling to the floor. If so, it would have been a travel for falling to the floor while holding the ball.

Aside form that, I don't see anything here. Being clever and intelligent about the game situation is not poor sportsmanship.

The player was playing the remaining seconds out by protecting the ball. The other team should have still tried. You said it would have been the 6th foul if they committed a foul so they may have been able to steal the throwin. They gave up and/or were outsmarted.

sandylow Sat Nov 21, 2015 04:30am

Bas2456

That is correct, Team A played the ball in from the side, and after catching the ball player A1 fell over the ball to stop team B getting at the ball for the last few seconds of the game.

Cameron

Thank you, so no rule broken, but maybe a travel.....as for smart maybe, but as this was U14 and full of young kids (between 11-14) still learning the game and the rules, this was purely the coaches call, having called the time out as soon as the ball went out of play (and overheard from my position as the scorer telling the kids how to play it).

As for the 6th team foul (for the quarter), here that will send team A to the free throw line for two shots.....so either way team B couldn't win.

Thanks again for the answers, this is the first time I have seen this happen.

Buz

Camron Rust Sat Nov 21, 2015 06:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by sandylow (Post 970278)
Bas2456

That is correct, Team A played the ball in from the side, and after catching the ball player A1 fell over the ball to stop team B getting at the ball for the last few seconds of the game.

Cameron

Thank you, so no rule broken, but maybe a travel.....as for smart maybe, but as this was U14 and full of young kids (between 11-14) still learning the game and the rules, this was purely the coaches call, having called the time out as soon as the ball went out of play (and overheard from my position as the scorer telling the kids how to play it).

As for the 6th team foul (for the quarter), here that will send team A to the free throw line for two shots.....so either way team B couldn't win.

Thanks again for the answers, this is the first time I have seen this happen.

Buz

Team B still could have fouled and had a chance. Teams do that all the time. The odds might not be great but team A might miss one or both FTs and then B would have a few seconds left to try to make a field goal.

Nevadaref Sun Nov 22, 2015 04:57am

Do an Internet search for video of the final seconds of the Georgetown v Villanova 1985 NCAA Championship Game.

crosscountry55 Sun Nov 22, 2015 08:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 970279)
Team B still could have fouled and had a chance. Teams do that all the time. The odds might not be great but team A might miss one or both FTs and then B would have a few seconds left to try to make a field goal.


See Memphis v Kansas, 2008 NC game as reference (a).

Sorry, John. Gotta make your free throws.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

BillyMac Sun Nov 22, 2015 01:20pm

Surroundsound ???
 
Could the original poster be confusing his situation with this one:

9.10.1 SITUATION D: Team A, while in possession of the ball in its frontcourt:
(a) positions four players parallel with the sideline and they pass the ball from one
to another with their arms reaching beyond the sideline plane; or (b) has four
teammates surround dribbler A1. In both (a) and (b), the opponents are unable
to get close to the ball. RULING: This is considered to be a closely-guarded
situation and a violation in five seconds in both (a) and (b), if any B player is
within 6 feet of the ball or within 6 feet of the screening teammates and is
attempting to gain control of the ball. Preventing opponents from getting to the
ball by using screening teammates becomes a violation in five seconds if the
opponents are attempting to gain control.

Camron Rust Sun Nov 22, 2015 02:25pm

Even if the player remained on his/her feet, it isn't hard to cover the ball so completely by wrapping it up with the arms that the other team can't get to it without fouling.

sandylow Mon Nov 23, 2015 03:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 970392)
Do an Internet search for video of the final seconds of the Georgetown v Villanova 1985 NCAA Championship Game.

Nevadaref

Thank you for the suggested video. That is almost the same as what happened in the OP game, only difference was the player took possession first before falling to the ground.

Thanks again guys, you live and learn.

Sandylow

OKREF Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:27am

Team A inbounded the ball and A1 caught the ball, then fell to the ground? If so it is a traveling violation and Team B gets a throw in.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1