![]() |
|
|
|||
POE - FT Shooter Contact
Have my first contest of the year tonight...Would like input on this from you guys on this.
NFHS Reads: Players who occupy free throw lane line marked spaces during free throws may enter the free-throw lane upon the free thrower releasing the ball; however, should a defensive player cross the free-throw line too soon, it is a violation. A delayed violation signal is to be displayed. If the free throw is successful, the violation is ignored. If a defender contacts the free thrower, a personal foul is the correct ruling. If the free throw is unsuccessful, the violation is enforced and a substitute free throw is awarded. If a defender contacts the free thrower, a personal foul is the correct ruling. Whether the free throw is or is not successful, the penalty for the personal foul is awarded. If the free thrower’s team is in a bonus situation, the free thrower would be awarded a one-and one or two free throws. If the free thrower’s team is not in a bonus situation, his or her team would be awarded a throw-in along the end line. So is any contact on a FT shooter by defense, while ball is in flight is to be called a PF... Is it that black and white for us officials? |
|
|||
I think we have found our replacement for the "if the B2 deflects the ball and A1 catches it in the back court before it touches the floor" question.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
A blatant block out, rear in the gut prior to contact, sure...a slight bump setting up to box out...perhaps or might we have a delayed violation here.... Just trying to see what people have to say about it and how they would officiat it. Don't let post count fool you...I just haven't been on here in a few years. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Check with your state or local association. Some states are mandating what you quoted from the nfhs: "any contact must be ruled a personal foul" and others are expecting that contact be more than incidental to be considered a foul. I have not heard what Indiana expects.
BTW...your first game is today and you are JUST NOW looking into this??? ![]()
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call Last edited by Freddy; Thu Nov 19, 2015 at 10:26am. |
|
|||
Quote:
Have always appreciated the info I gather from this site in the past. |
|
|||
Quote:
Hey Arem, can you help this fellow Indiana official with what your state says on this issue?
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Now I'm back to 4th graders (step-daughter is playing) and having to teach it all over! ![]() |
|
|||
So is any contact on a FT shooter by defense, while ball is in flight is to be called a PF... Is it that black and white for us officials?[/QUOTE]
Before it touches the rim: Violation and PF, unless its somehow is an intentional foul. My understanding is that the contact does not negate the violation. |
|
|||
Automatic (Pointer Sisters, 1984) ...
Quote:
9-2-10-Penalty-4: If an opponent(s) contacts the thrower, an intentional personal foul shall be charged to the offender. 9.2.10 SITUATION B: Team A has a (a) designated spot throw-in, or (b) alternating- possession throw-in along the end line. Thrower A1 extends the ball with his/her arms over the end line such that part of the forearms, hands, and the ball are entirely on the inbounds side of the boundary line. B2 slaps A1 on the wrist and dislodges the ball. RULING: In (a) and (b), when a defender makes contact with a thrower-in, the result is an intentional foul. Where A1’s arms are located (on the inbounds or out-of-bounds side of the boundary line) is immaterial. A1 is awarded two free throws and Team A awarded a throw-in at the spot nearest the foul. In (b), since the throw-in did not end, the arrow remains with Team A.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Jab by the defender on the jump shooter (non-contact) | FrankHtown | Basketball | 44 | Thu Apr 02, 2009 06:31am |
When is hair contact a contact? | OmniSpiker | Volleyball | 6 | Tue Nov 04, 2008 06:27pm |
Contact with FT shooter | texaspaul | Basketball | 9 | Tue Dec 04, 2007 01:17pm |
Contact with shooter after release | womens_hoops | Basketball | 9 | Mon Jan 10, 2005 02:28pm |