View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 19, 2015, 05:53pm
BillyMac BillyMac is online now
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,392
Automatic (Pointer Sisters, 1984) ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by RefsNCoaches View Post
So is any contact on a FT shooter by defense, while ball is in flight is to be called a PF... Is it that black and white for us officials?
Do we now have another "it's always a foul; forget everything you ever learned about advantage/disadvantage/incidental" scenario?

9-2-10-Penalty-4: If an opponent(s) contacts the thrower, an intentional personal foul shall
be charged
to the offender.

9.2.10 SITUATION B: Team A has a (a) designated spot throw-in, or (b) alternating-
possession throw-in along the end line. Thrower A1 extends the ball with
his/her arms over the end line such that part of the forearms, hands, and the ball
are entirely on the inbounds side of the boundary line. B2 slaps A1 on the wrist
and dislodges the ball. RULING: In (a) and (b), when a defender makes contact
with a thrower-in, the result is an intentional foul.
Where A1’s arms are located
(on the inbounds or out-of-bounds side of the boundary line) is immaterial. A1 is
awarded two free throws and Team A awarded a throw-in at the spot nearest the
foul. In (b), since the throw-in did not end, the arrow remains with Team A.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote