The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2015, 01:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Shore Mass
Posts: 121
jump stop on catch

Player A1 receives pass from A2 with left foot on floor. A1 then jumps and lands on the floor with both feet simultaneously to to complete a legal jump stop. Now A1 decides to dribble but before dribbling he lifts one foot but the other foot remains on the floor until after the ball has been released from his hand. I believe this is legal since neither foot is the pivot foot on a jump stop. However, this seems to circumvent the traveling rule of lifting the pivot foot before releasing the ball from the hand on a dribble.

I believe the rule book should address this situation and clarify that this situation is legal or travel. Right now I believe it is legal but I feel like it is an unfair advantage to the dribbler. If not legal please explain.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2015, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,795
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoopguy View Post
Player A1 receives pass from A2 with left foot on floor. A1 then jumps and lands on the floor with both feet simultaneously to to complete a legal jump stop. Now A1 decides to dribble but before dribbling he lifts one foot but the other foot remains on the floor until after the ball has been released from his hand. I believe this is legal since neither foot is the pivot foot on a jump stop. However, this seems to circumvent the traveling rule of lifting the pivot foot before releasing the ball from the hand on a dribble.

I believe the rule book should address this situation and clarify that this situation is legal or travel. Right now I believe it is legal but I feel like it is an unfair advantage to the dribbler. If not legal please explain.
take a look at 4-44-4b
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2015, 01:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoopguy View Post
Player A1 receives pass from A2 with left foot on floor. A1 then jumps and lands on the floor with both feet simultaneously to to complete a legal jump stop. Now A1 decides to dribble but before dribbling he lifts one foot but the other foot remains on the floor until after the ball has been released from his hand. I believe this is legal since neither foot is the pivot foot on a jump stop. However, this seems to circumvent the traveling rule of lifting the pivot foot before releasing the ball from the hand on a dribble.

I believe the rule book should address this situation and clarify that this situation is legal or travel. Right now I believe it is legal but I feel like it is an unfair advantage to the dribbler. If not legal please explain.
In this situation, "both" feet are pivot feet.

The ball must be released on a dribble before either foot is raised.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2015, 11:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoopguy View Post
Player A1 receives pass from A2 with left foot on floor. A1 then jumps and lands on the floor with both feet simultaneously to to complete a legal jump stop. Now A1 decides to dribble but before dribbling he lifts one foot but the other foot remains on the floor until after the ball has been released from his hand. I believe this is legal since neither foot is the pivot foot on a jump stop. However, this seems to circumvent the traveling rule of lifting the pivot foot before releasing the ball from the hand on a dribble.

I believe the rule book should address this situation and clarify that this situation is legal or travel. Right now I believe it is legal but I feel like it is an unfair advantage to the dribbler. If not legal please explain.
Straight from the NFHS rules book:


4-44-2: Traveling is moving a foot or feet in any direction in excess of prescribed limits while holding the ball. The limits on foot movements are as follows:
A player, who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop, and establish a pivot foot as follows:
a. If both feet are off the floor and the player lands:
1. Simultaneously on both feet, either foot may be the pivot.
2. On one foot followed by the other, the first foot to touch is the pivot.
3. On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.
b. If one foot is on the floor:
1. It is the pivot when the other foot touches in a step.
2. The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.



4-44-4: After coming to a stop when neither foot can be a pivot:
a. One or both feet may be lifted, but may not be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
b. Neither foot may be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
jump stop..... scat03 Basketball 8 Mon Jan 26, 2009 12:42pm
Jump Stop Pickert Basketball 4 Fri Jun 02, 2006 09:29am
Jump stop? fan Basketball 40 Mon Jan 09, 2006 12:46pm
jump stop ? scat03 Basketball 12 Fri Nov 05, 2004 02:38pm
jump stop Ralph Stubenthal Basketball 1 Sun Nov 28, 1999 03:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1