The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2015, 06:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
What am I missing here?
The change of possession. Team B possessed the ball.

If Team A had secured the rebound, there'd have been no change of possession, so you'd just line them up and shoot the second.

In this instance, Team A is going to get the ball back (because of the violation by B) after the awarding of the second free throw.

Last edited by ODog; Mon Nov 09, 2015 at 06:47pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2015, 07:00pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODog View Post
The change of possession. Team B possessed the ball.

If Team A had secured the rebound, there'd have been no change of possession, so you'd just line them up and shoot the second.

In this instance, Team A is going to get the ball back (because of the violation by B) after the awarding of the second free throw.
You're right, I just hate the administration.

This situation right here is all fault. Both or all 3 officials should not have gone brain dead.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2015, 07:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODog View Post
The change of possession. Team B possessed the ball.

If Team A had secured the rebound, there'd have been no change of possession, so you'd just line them up and shoot the second.

In this instance, Team A is going to get the ball back (because of the violation by B) after the awarding of the second free throw.
There is actually a case play similar to this. In that play B gets the rebound and plays on. The case play actually says Bs rebound does NOT constitute a change in possession. it is the first play under correctable errors. the reason why this IS considered a change of possession is because B violated and so it will be A ball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2015, 07:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
There is actually a case play similar to this. In that play B gets the rebound and plays on. The case play actually says Bs rebound does NOT constitute a change in possession. it is the first play under correctable errors. the reason why this IS considered a change of possession is because B violated and so it will be A ball.
That case play was written in the last three years, and sadly is wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2015, 07:09pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,559
No Change In Possession ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
the reason why this IS considered a change of possession is because B violated and so it will be A ball.
Team B violated, and then the error was discovered, before Team A got possession of the ball for a throw-in. Team A never got possession of the ball, so the was no change of possession.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Nov 09, 2015 at 07:16pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2015, 07:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Team B violated, and then the error was discovered, before Team A got possession of the ball for a throw-in. Team A never got possession of the ball, so the was no change of possession.
When a team is entitled to a throw-in or FTs which have not yet taken place, that team is considered to have possession for CE purposes.

For example:
If your missed FT situation above had resulted in A2 and B3 simultaneously grabbing the rebound and creating a held ball, the AP arrow would determine whether or not players would be permitted along the lane for the 2nd FT. If the arrow favored Team A, then players would occupy the lane, but if it favored Team B, then the CE FT would be attempted with the lane spaces empty and the POI would be an AP throw-in to Team B.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2015, 07:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
When a team is entitled to a throw-in or FTs which have not yet taken place, that team is considered to have possession for CE purposes.

For example:
If your missed FT situation above had resulted in A2 and B3 simultaneously grabbing the rebound and creating a held ball, the AP arrow would determine whether or not players would be permitted along the lane for the 2nd FT. If the arrow favored Team A, then players would occupy the lane, but if it favored Team B, then the CE FT would be attempted with the lane spaces empty and the POI would be an AP throw-in to Team B.
agreed. billy take a look at 2.10.1 d and f. F is the AP play nevada cites above.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2015, 07:25pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,559
Let's Go To The Videotape ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
billy take a look at 2.10.1 d and f.
2.10.1 SITUATION D: A1 is fouled. Team A is awarded the ball out of bounds.
The foul was Team B’s seventh team foul and A1 should have been awarded a one
and one bonus. Team A scores on the ensuing throw-in. As the ball passes
through the net, the officials are informed of the error. RULING: The error is discovered
within the correctable error timeframe. Count the goal by A; A1 will be
awarded the bonus with no players along the lane lines. There has been a change
of possession and the point of interruption is the goal by Team A, therefore Team
B will be awarded a throw-in anywhere along the end line. (2-10-1a; 2-10-5)

2.10.1 SITUATION F: A1 is fouled. The scorer informs the official that Team B
has committed ten team fouls and that the two-free-throw penalty is in effect. The
official administers the free throw and states and indicates "two" throws. The first
free throw is unsuccessful and the second is successful. B1 has the ball out of
bounds for the throw-in. The scorer informs the official that there were only nine
team fouls on Team B and that the penalty should have been one and one. RULING:
The error is discovered within the correctable error timeframe, and shall be
corrected. The second free throw is canceled and play is resumed at the point of
interruption. Since “no goal” has been scored, play is resumed with an alternating-
possession throw-in at a spot nearest to where the ball was located when the
stoppage occurred. (2-10-1b; 2-10-6; 4-36-2c)

Situation F is an unmerited free throw and, thus, doesn't apply to the original question.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Nov 09, 2015 at 07:28pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2015, 07:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
2.10.1 SITUATION D: A1 is fouled. Team A is awarded the ball out of bounds.
The foul was Team B’s seventh team foul and A1 should have been awarded a one
and one bonus. Team A scores on the ensuing throw-in. As the ball passes
through the net, the officials are informed of the error. RULING: The error is discovered
within the correctable error timeframe. Count the goal by A; A1 will be
awarded the bonus with no players along the lane lines. There has been a change
of possession and the point of interruption is the goal by Team A, therefore Team
B will be awarded a throw-in anywhere along the end line. (2-10-1a; 2-10-5)

2.10.1 SITUATION F: A1 is fouled. The scorer informs the official that Team B
has committed ten team fouls and that the two-free-throw penalty is in effect. The
official administers the free throw and states and indicates "two" throws. The first
free throw is unsuccessful and the second is successful. B1 has the ball out of
bounds for the throw-in. The scorer informs the official that there were only nine
team fouls on Team B and that the penalty should have been one and one. RULING:
The error is discovered within the correctable error timeframe, and shall be
corrected. The second free throw is canceled and play is resumed at the point of
interruption. Since “no goal” has been scored, play is resumed with an alternating-
possession throw-in at a spot nearest to where the ball was located when the
stoppage occurred. (2-10-1b; 2-10-6; 4-36-2c)

Situation F is an unmerited free throw and, thus, doesn't apply to the original question.
What you have above as F is E in my rules. F in mine is the ap arrow play. They both show that when the other team is entitled to inbound the ball that is enough. They dont have to actually pick up the ball. as you noted, it would be too late to correct the error if ball was at their disposal.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2015, 02:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Team B violated, and then the error was discovered, before Team A got possession of the ball for a throw-in. Team A never got possession of the ball, so the was no change of possession.
Possession begins when the infraction occurs. The ball, by rule, at that point, belongs to the team due the ball due the infraction. We just administer it at the time of the throw in.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2015, 07:05pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,559
No Change In Possession ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ODog View Post
The change of possession. Team B possessed the ball.
If Team A had secured the rebound, there'd have been no change of possession, so you'd just line them up and shoot the second. In this instance, Team A is going to get the ball back (because of the violation by B) after the awarding of the second free throw.
The error occurred when then ball was allowed to remain in play. After the error occurred, only Team B possessed the ball. There was no change in possession.

2-10-6: If an error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the point of interruption to rectify the error, unless it involves awarding a merited free throw(s) and there has been no change of team possession since the error was made, in which case play shall resume as after any free-throw attempt(s).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2015, 07:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
After the error occurred, only Team B possessed the ball. There was no change in possession.
Whose ball is it right now? Team A.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2015, 07:21pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,559
Team A Never Got Possession Of The Ball ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ODog View Post
Whose ball is it right now? Team A.
Team A never got possession of the ball for a throwin, plus, if they did, it would be too late for the error to be correctable. The error must be corrected during the dead ball period immediately after Team B violates. If the officials hand to ball to Team A for a throwin, the ball becomes live, and the error is no longer correctable, it's too late to correct.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IAABO Refresher Exam Question #5 ... BillyMac Basketball 5 Fri Nov 07, 2014 08:44am
IAABO Refresher Exam Question #33 ... BillyMac Basketball 7 Fri Nov 07, 2014 01:33am
IAABO Refresher Exam Question #57 ... BillyMac Basketball 0 Wed Nov 05, 2014 05:48pm
2011 IAABO Refresher Exam - Question 66 ... BillyMac Basketball 4 Wed Dec 07, 2011 07:37pm
IAABO Refresher Exam Question 25 ken roberts Basketball 6 Wed Oct 27, 1999 08:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1