![]() |
|
|
|||
For the sake of the play, he touches 2nd and is on second after the ball becomes dead. Same as if he was between 2nd and 3rd as the ball became dead and retouched 2nd. But, we would not allow him to retouch 1st because of rule 8.2.5.
He had NOT passed 2nd returning to 1st at time ball went dead.
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words". |
|
|||
Quote:
(I will grant that if R1 leaves a beat early, and then rounds second and the ball is thrown out of play, I'll award home and wait for the appeal at first.) And, OBR might be different -- the references have changed a bit over the years. |
|
|||
He didn't legally touch any base other than 1st, but we can't award that way. He's assumed to have legally touched 2nd until the appeal. At that point, he's out no matter what you awarded him. The runner is in a no win situation because he can't retouch more than one base on the dead ball.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
4 Base Award / Abandoning Base | NCASAUmp | Softball | 20 | Tue Jul 06, 2010 07:28am |
Base Award | LDUB | Baseball | 6 | Wed Apr 21, 2004 07:39am |
Base Award | Rick Vietti | Baseball | 5 | Wed Aug 06, 2003 01:33pm |
1 or 2 Base Award? | insatty | Baseball | 26 | Sat Mar 15, 2003 04:39pm |
Base award | TERRY1 | Softball | 5 | Thu Aug 22, 2002 02:39pm |