![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
That being said, until someone showed me that interpretation, I had the same opinion, because I was keeping the intent of the rule in mind.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
|
|||
|
I disagree.
Case play 3.1.1 Sit M does not cover this situation. and the interp presented is different than the situation presented in thread No. 1. All sit 2 said was the way the coach utilized the sub and catcher was legal. It does not say that the starting catcher has to come back in the game in order for there to be CR. Having said that, where in the rule book or Case book does it say a (Pinch hitter)/ Substitute does not become a catcher or pitcher when substituting for that player on offense. Just give a rule reference and not your opinion, and this whole thing is solved. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Show me the definition of a Pinch Hitter. REFERENCE PLEASE such as: NFHS 2-36-1 "A substitute is a player that is eligible to replace another player already in the line-up." or 3-1-1.d "a substitute has entered the game when the ball is live and :.........d. a batter takes his place in the batter's box" |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Thanks . |
|
|||
|
I guess it just seemed clear to me. Just like it's clear to me that the player that is a catcher when on D will come back to bat if they bat around. The player is a courtesy runner, not a courtesy substitute. No matter what the NFHS says.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me |
|
|||
|
Quote:
It includes ".. a courtesy runner would only be allowed to run for the player who was the catcher on defense before coming to bat" |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A simple sentence like: "Offensive changes must be reported when the team is on offense and defensive changes must be reported when a team is on defense." would help. Thanks for the clarification. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Courtesy runner | roadking | Softball | 2 | Tue Apr 10, 2012 08:40am |
| Courtesy runner and 8-10-E | RKBUmp | Softball | 7 | Mon Jan 18, 2010 07:15pm |
| ASA Courtesy Runner | Forest Ump | Softball | 3 | Fri May 09, 2008 11:55pm |
| Pinch runner for a courtesy runner? | jwwashburn | Softball | 17 | Wed May 02, 2007 01:43pm |
| Courtesy runner | benbret | Softball | 12 | Thu May 11, 2006 12:25pm |