The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 10, 2014, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 336
Can the starting pitcher also be the DH in FED?

3-1-4 says "a starting defensive player cannot be listed as the DH in the starting lineup".
Nothing covering this in the casebook.
My assignor says its OK, he saw a notice from NFHS on this, after getting a call from a varsity coach whose #1 pitcher is also their best hitter, AND who has that notice printed out. I just havent seen that yet.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 10, 2014, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by archangel View Post
3-1-4 says "a starting defensive player cannot be listed as the DH in the starting lineup".
Nothing covering this in the casebook.
My assignor says its OK, he saw a notice from NFHS on this, after getting a call from a varsity coach whose #1 pitcher is also their best hitter, AND who has that notice printed out. I just havent seen that yet.
Your assignor is wrong. There is no such notice.

There's no reason for it to be in the casebook because there's no interpretation necessary. Is the pitcher a defensive player or not?
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 10, 2014, 01:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 336
Contacted OHSAA who says the same thing- not allowed!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 10, 2014, 01:19pm
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
No P/DH in FED. NCAA used to allow it -- not sure if that's still current.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 10, 2014, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT1 View Post
No P/DH in FED. NCAA used to allow it -- not sure if that's still current.
It is.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 10, 2014, 10:24pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
If the best pitcher is also best hitter he needs to play another position when he is not pitching.

I recall a particular best pitcher/hitter, who played CF when not pitching, and all the scouts said he would never pitch in the SHOW because he was too good a hitter.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 11, 2014, 06:36am
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Tell you assigner to stick to assigning games. Yikes!
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 13, 2014, 06:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
The pitcher can bat for himself when he's pitching, and DH for someone else when he's not. He just can't do it in the same game unless he DH's first.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 13, 2014, 06:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT1 View Post
No P/DH in FED. NCAA used to allow it -- not sure if that's still current.
As Bob said, NCAA allows a P/DH (one player) or a P and a DH (two players), but only FED allows the DH to bat for someone other than the pitcher.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 14, 2014, 01:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
archangel,

As others have already told you, this is not "FED legal".

I'm trying to figure out why the coach might want to do this.

It's certainly legal for the pitcher to bat under FED rules.

What is NOT legal is, say after 4 or 5 innings, the coach now wants to bring in a new pitcher, but keep the previous pitcher in the batting lineup, and the new pitcher will not bat.

Nor would it be legal if the pitcher is "in the zone" but having a "rough day" at the plate, and the coach wants to keep him pitching, but wants to bring in a new guy to bat for him.

If there are not 10 guys in the lineup presented to the PU at the plate conference (one of whom does not bat), then they are stuck with nine (or, conceivably 8) for the remainder of the game. And under FED rules, the "pitcher" is not relevant. He is no different from any other defensive player in the context of this rule.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CWS game 2 starting pitcher windup? umpjim Baseball 28 Wed Jun 26, 2013 03:11pm
NFHS - Pitcher "juggling" the ball while on the pitcher's plate. marvin Softball 3 Thu Apr 26, 2012 09:25am
Starting Pitcher Replaced Returns DG Baseball 8 Wed May 18, 2011 07:01am
Starting pitcher reentering the game to pitch?? oyaisee Baseball 32 Thu Nov 08, 2007 05:57am
Starting Pitcher re-entry JeremyByrd Baseball 1 Tue Jun 12, 2007 08:17am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1