![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Wow, I just watched the video, and I can't believe 7.13(2) would penalize a catcher who sets up in the pathway without the ball, but then receives the ball well before the runner gets there, as what happened here.
So, if a catcher sets up in the pathway without the ball, and the runner collides with the catcher just as the ball enters his mitt, what prevails? Do they call the runner Out under 7.13(1), or Safe under 7.13(2)??
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
It appears the rule is written such that catcher must have the ball to block the plate, otherwise obstruction. It also appears collisions are legal as long as the runner is trying to reach the plate and not doing so maliciously. Sounds a lot like the college rule.
In this replay he had the ball so the challenge must have been about whether he did or not. Last edited by DG; Wed Apr 02, 2014 at 10:57pm. |
|
|||
|
Looked textbook to me, the catcher did his job perfectly and the plate umpire was right on the call. No obstruction for sure as he clearly had the ball in his possession before the play and the runner was not impeded.
__________________
Hey Blue! Explain obstruction again.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Whatever happened in KY? | 26 Year Gap | Basketball | 4 | Fri Feb 11, 2011 09:09pm |
| What happened? | NCASAUmp | Softball | 13 | Mon Jun 22, 2009 10:34pm |
| well it happened, well almost happened | cmathews | Basketball | 7 | Mon Jan 29, 2007 04:17pm |
| Has this happened to you? | Gus | Basketball | 2 | Tue Nov 07, 2006 11:39pm |
| Whatever happened to "Whatever happened to class"? | UmpJM | Baseball | 7 | Sat Jul 30, 2005 03:49pm |