![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
|
|||
|
I'm a little late to the party, but I think I agree w/ Matt. I don't think you can get an out here. You can EJ, but I don't think you can get an out.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
|
2003 FED Interps, Situation 3: During a time-out, with runners on first and second base, R2 switches places with R1 because he is faster and plans on stealing third base when the game resumes. RULING: When detected, the umpire will award two outs to the defense, warn the coach and eject R2 and R1. One out is assessed for passing a runner and another out is for running the bases in reverse order. This infraction may be corrected during a dead ball when detected by the umpire, defensive team or offensive team. (3-3-1g, 8-4-2m, n)
(Any typos are likely mine. The R1, R2 notation is FED's) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
|
|||
|
Yes, common sense. Wait, we're using FED...
In all seriousness, there's probably a reason that this is a) not in the casebook, and b) not located anywhere. My hunch is that they realized how it doesn't have a basis by rule. I can't enforce something that only has an existing basis on stevetheump's website. I'll be quite straightforward--I'm not enforcing outs here, FED or not. If this ever were to happen, I'd tell the DC to protest my not giving any outs, and see what comes of it.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Suppose after the base switch, the pitcher delivers the pitch, the batter singles to knock home the lead runner from second, and the trail runner moves to second. The DC comes out and protests that the runner at second was originally the lead runner, and you verify that fact by checking your lineup card. Would you allow the run? Would you require a do-over? Quote:
Also, ASA Softball has this in its rule book under the "Runner is Out" section, 8-7: Y. When base runners switch positions on the bases they occupied following any conference. EFFECT: Each runner on an improper base shall be declared out. In addition, the manager shall be ejected for unsportsmanlike conduct. And in the NCAA Softball rule book, you'll find this under section 12.5, the "Base Runner is Out after a Proper Appeal" section: 12.5.3 When, after a conference, base runners switch positions on the bases they occupied, the ball has been put back in play, and before the end of the half-inning. EFFECT—Each base runner on the improper base shall be declared out and ejected. In addition, the head coach shall be ejected for unsportsmanlike behavior. (Behavioral ejections.) I find it interesting that NCAA Softball requires an appeal for this. I'm willing to bet there's similar language in other softball rule books (PONY, USSSA, etc.) Why it's all over the place in softball, but not in baseball is beyond me. In my experience, baseball has more incidents of this kind of unsporting crap than the girls' game.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
|
Quote:
(This question comes up from time to time, and in other sports.) |
|
|||
|
This is just about as true a statement I've ever read, and (along with the organizational politics) it explains why I no longer work FED baseball or soccer.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Problem is, it says one is out for running the bases backward, and the other is out for passing. And NEITHER of these happen in the OP. I believe the reasoning they give for 2 outs is faulty, but since this is the most recent interpretation that is even close to the OP, and the 2 outs they give us refer to things that don't happen in the OP, I cannot justify 2 outs here, even though I think that's what FED wants here.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
I'm trying to visualize what I might write in a report to our state office. I can certainly justify EJs for Unsportsmanlike Conduct [3-3-1g(4)], but I don't see how I can justify outs.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| This happened to me last night | rwest | Basketball | 5 | Fri Jan 21, 2005 09:27am |
| It happened again last night...... | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 14 | Tue Oct 28, 2003 08:19pm |
| Bush League Play | TwoBits | Baseball | 12 | Thu May 01, 2003 06:58am |
| It happened last night | Camron Rust | Basketball | 18 | Thu Feb 27, 2003 10:13am |
| It happened last night | ranjo | Basketball | 6 | Wed Jan 16, 2002 08:55pm |