The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 20, 2013, 04:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 280
interesting run down situation

I wouldn't have gotten this call right...

MLB.com Gameday | MLB.com: Gameday
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 20, 2013, 04:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by BEAREF View Post
I wouldn't have gotten this call right...

MLB.com Gameday | MLB.com: Gameday
Unless the big diamonds have a rule I don't know, you would have been right there with the third base umpire then.
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 20, 2013, 05:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tyler, Texas
Posts: 388
Yankees DP

Traded texts with a friend of mine that is a MiLB umpire. He said that R1, Lawrie, was called out because R3, Reyes, had re-acquired third base. If you listen to the annoucers, they got one right. The end of the world must be near.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 20, 2013, 06:04pm
Is this a legal title?
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by nopachunts View Post
Traded texts with a friend of mine that is a MiLB umpire. He said that R1, Lawrie, was called out because R3, Reyes, had re-acquired third base. If you listen to the annoucers, they got one right. The end of the world must be near.
They got the rule right, but they missed the play--just like Iassogna.

In that situation, R2 is out when tagged only if R3 and R2 occupy the bag simultaneously. Reyes was clearly off the bag and Lawrie on it when Lawrie was tagged. Lawrie should not have been called out.
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 20, 2013, 07:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 123
Lawrie was R1, not R2.
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 20, 2013, 07:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwburke94 View Post
Lawrie was R1, not R2.
Whether you using the NFHS runner designation or the rest of the worlds runner designation, Lawrie was R2.
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 20, 2013, 07:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Publius View Post
They got the rule right, but they missed the play--just like Iassogna.

In that situation, R2 is out when tagged only if R3 and R2 occupy the bag simultaneously. Reyes was clearly off the bag and Lawrie on it when Lawrie was tagged. Lawrie should not have been called out.
No, Lawrie was out because he could not acquire 3B until Reyes was tagged out before him or aquired HP.

7.03 (a) Two runners may not occupy a base, but if, while the ball is alive, two runners are touching a base, the following runner shall be out when tagged and the preceding runner is entitled to the base, unless Rule 7.03(b) applies.

As stated Reyes was out because he clearly off the bag. Had he tagged Reyes first then Lawrie, Lawrie would have been safe.
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 20, 2013, 08:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by jicecone View Post
No, Lawrie was out because he could not acquire 3B until Reyes was tagged out before him or aquired HP.

7.03 (a) Two runners may not occupy a base, but if, while the ball is alive, two runners are touching a base, the following runner shall be out when tagged and the preceding runner is entitled to the base, unless Rule 7.03(b) applies.

As stated Reyes was out because he clearly off the bag. Had he tagged Reyes first then Lawrie, Lawrie would have been safe.
The first part of what you said is not correct. It would mean that any runner could be tagged out while standing on a base if the runner ahead of him hasn't touched the next base or been tagged out?

Last edited by rpumpire; Fri Sep 20, 2013 at 08:13pm.
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 20, 2013, 09:35pm
Is this a legal title?
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by jicecone View Post
No, Lawrie was out because he could not acquire 3B until Reyes was tagged out before him or aquired HP.
That's absolutely wrong.

If both runners are on the bag, the following runner is out, no matter what order they're tagged (unless it's a force-play situation, when the preceding runner is out.)

In a non-force situation, if only one runner is on the bag and he's tagged, he's not out. Reyes was entitled to occupy 3rd until he advanced or was put out, but he has to actually be occupying it in order for the following runner who is also occupying it to be put out.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interesting Situation tarheelcoach Baseball 19 Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:35am
Interesting situation Refsmitty Basketball 28 Wed Apr 29, 2009 08:48pm
Interesting Situation 2 Rar Basketball 14 Mon Feb 21, 2005 03:17pm
Interesting situation devdog69 Basketball 34 Tue Mar 09, 2004 08:54am
interesting situation jtarantine Basketball 8 Thu Jan 30, 2003 08:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1