The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 06, 2013, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
The announcers were right - the tag on the BR was made with an empty glove. Therefore the batter wasn't out at the plate. There may have been a verbal by U1 that overrode the out signal.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 06, 2013, 11:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
PU points fair ball (Correct) and then signals out on tag by catcher. (Well what he thought was a tag and what the stupid announcer thought was interference).

The base umpires reacted to instantaneous plays and should not be subjected to critical evaluations by a 11u umpire. Maybe next year when you do 12 yr olds.

Sooo, it should have ended up with runners at 2nd and 3rd and one out, but somehow the either the PU was able to convince the HC that the right call was made or the HC figured his team wasn't getting out of the basement anyway and figured he could get to the local pub earlier.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 06, 2013, 03:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 3 hrs east of the western time zone
Posts: 895
How about in 7 years when I get 18 yr old games ?????

All the 12u were taken otherwise I would have got them !!!!!
__________________
Go ugly early, avoid the rush !!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 06, 2013, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Multiple Sports View Post
How about in 7 years when I get 18 yr old games ?????

All the 12u were taken otherwise I would have got them !!!!!
Deal!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 06, 2013, 07:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North, TX
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
The announcers were right - the tag on the BR was made with an empty glove. Therefore the batter wasn't out at the plate. There may have been a verbal by U1 that overrode the out signal.
U1 can verbally override PU/crew chief's out call during a live ball play? How do you figure?

B was out on the play at the plate (it looked to me that F2 initially had an empty glove on B, but then his right hand (with the ball) pushed onto the glove while the glove was still contacting B...but hard to tell).

CCS says that R2 was ruled out for abandonment...go figure.

Last edited by bluehair; Sat Jul 06, 2013 at 07:55pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 06, 2013, 07:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluehair View Post
B was out on the play at the plate (it looked to me that F2 initially had an empty glove on B, but then his right hand (with the ball) pushed onto the glove while the glove was still contacting B...but hard to tell).
Even if you saw it correctly the B/R would not be out.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 06, 2013, 08:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North, TX
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
Even if you saw it correctly the B/R would not be out.
F2 has ball in rt hand inside of glove and tags R = out.
F2 has ball in rt hand contacting outside of glove and tags R, I still have an out.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 06, 2013, 08:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluehair View Post
F2 has ball in rt hand inside of glove and tags R = out.
F2 has ball in rt hand contacting outside of glove and tags R, I still have an out.
There is no "electricity" on the tag of a runner. The ball must be securely held by the hand or glove that tags the runner.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 06, 2013, 08:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North, TX
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
There is no "electricity" on the tag of a runner. The ball must be securely held by the hand or glove that tags the runner.
So, F2 has ball in rt hand inside of glove then tags R with glove is not out? Good luck with that....good luck with either no tag call.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 06, 2013, 09:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluehair View Post
So, F2 has ball in rt hand inside of glove then tags R with glove is not out? Good luck with that....good luck with either no tag call.
That is an out. This is what you described in an earlier post:

" it looked to me that F2 initially had an empty glove on B, but then his right hand (with the ball) pushed onto the glove while the glove was still contacting B.."

That is not a tag.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 07, 2013, 07:07am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Let's assume U3 realizes that B1 is out and makes no call because F5 doesn't attempt to tag R2. It's apparent that R2, believing he was out on a force, would still have headed for his dugout. Thus, he's now out for abandonment.

Right result, wrong mechanics.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 06, 2013, 09:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 3 hrs east of the western time zone
Posts: 895
Electricity!!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
There is no "electricity" on the tag of a runner. The ball must be securely held by the hand or glove that tags the runner.
The last time "electricity" counted was in baserunners or tag in my neighbors backyard about 39.years ago......
__________________
Go ugly early, avoid the rush !!!!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 08, 2013, 09:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluehair View Post
F2 has ball in rt hand inside of glove and tags R = out.
F2 has ball in rt hand contacting outside of glove and tags R, I still have an out.
Wow... I sure hope not.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 08, 2013, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North, TX
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Wow... I sure hope not.
When I'm taking a rules test or playing rules gotcha with internet umpires, no.
When I'm talking practicality and I see a two-handed tag like in this play, you betcha.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 08, 2013, 10:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluehair View Post
When I'm taking a rules test or playing rules gotcha with internet umpires, no.
When I'm talking practicality and I see a two-handed tag like in this play, you betcha.
That's really too bad. Making an incorrect call on purpose solely because no one else would notice doesn't make it any less incorrect. If it's wrong on a rules test, it's wrong on the field.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
St Louis University Radio kwv001 Basketball 9 Sun Feb 24, 2013 12:41pm
UNM @ St. Louis Tio Basketball 4 Wed Jan 02, 2013 05:10pm
Help: St. Louis, MO Area Officials Remington Basketball 8 Tue May 10, 2011 10:58am
Red St. Louis, 1945-2011 bainsey Basketball 1 Thu Feb 03, 2011 10:28am
st louis issue fonzzy07 Hockey 9 Mon Jan 23, 2006 01:05am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1