![]() |
Miami / St.Louis.....not a force at third
Saw the play on Baseball Tonight. The Marlin player bunted was called out and there was no force at third......anybody be willing to put the video up for all to see.....
|
|
Quote:
but if he called the batter out then why did he let them make the out call at 3rd? But, the runner ran past the bag and probably would have been tagged out - so crazy all around. My question is what do you do as PU in this situation? You have the out on the BR, but what about the runner at 3rd? Interesting Thanks David |
Quote:
Seemed like the only person who knew what was going on was the plate umpire. U3 incorrectly calls a guy out at 3rd base for a nonexistent force out and U1 calls batter/runner out again at 1st base. Odd play. As PU I don't know what else you can do from a mechanics standpoint. |
Game Awareness
I'm going to be critical of the base umpires......are they aware of the PU called???
I'm not a fan of instant replay, but darn this is a situation where umpire communication ( or lack of it ) hurt the Marlins.... But I guess you can argue Why didn't base runner going from 2nd to 3rd see situation and stay on third.... Hey what do I know, I'm working three 11u games today....:D:D:D:D |
The announcers were right - the tag on the BR was made with an empty glove. Therefore the batter wasn't out at the plate. There may have been a verbal by U1 that overrode the out signal.
|
PU points fair ball (Correct) and then signals out on tag by catcher. (Well what he thought was a tag and what the stupid announcer thought was interference).
The base umpires reacted to instantaneous plays and should not be subjected to critical evaluations by a 11u umpire. Maybe next year when you do 12 yr olds. Sooo, it should have ended up with runners at 2nd and 3rd and one out, but somehow the either the PU was able to convince the HC that the right call was made or the HC figured his team wasn't getting out of the basement anyway and figured he could get to the local pub earlier. |
How about in 7 years when I get 18 yr old games ?????
All the 12u were taken otherwise I would have got them !!!!!:D:D:D:D |
Quote:
|
Quote:
B was out on the play at the plate (it looked to me that F2 initially had an empty glove on B, but then his right hand (with the ball) pushed onto the glove while the glove was still contacting B...but hard to tell). CCS says that R2 was ruled out for abandonment...go figure. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
F2 has ball in rt hand contacting outside of glove and tags R, I still have an out. |
Quote:
Video | MLB.com Multimedia |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23pm. |