![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() A) Batter did not step out of the box... B) Batter did not delay the game (the pitcher pitched anyway). You do not (or should not) have a dead ball strike in this situation.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
I sure hope someone from the FED is reading this and will finally get around to changing 6-2-4.
They changed 7-3-1 maybe 10 years ago now to add "and delays the game" but didn't make the corresponding change in 6-2-4. They did come out with some "memo" (I forget the exact format) that indicated it would be changed, but here we sit... |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
------------------------ I don't know how Chris handled this situation but I'll be interested to see how he did. -Josh |
|
|||
I may be impatient but I still have a dead ball strike. The batter did step out with one foot and by rule if the pitcher completes the pitch legally, the pitch is called a strike. If a batter is touched by a pitch, the ball is dead, hence the dead ball strike. That's what I like about you and Rita C, you are teaching me through disagreement.
|
|
|||
Quote:
(1) The batter shall keep at least one foot in the batter’s box throughout the (viii)The catcher leaves the catcher’s box to give defensive signals.batter’s time at bat, unless one of the following exceptions applies, in which case the batter may leave the batter’s box but not the dirt area surrounding home plate: (i) The batter swings at a pitch; (ii) The batter is forced out of the batter’s box by a pitch; (iii) A member of either team requests and is granted “Time”; (iv) A defensive player attempts a play on a runner at any base; (v) The batter feints a bunt; (vi) A wild pitch or passed ball occurs; (vii) The pitcher leaves the dirt area of the pitching mound after receiving the ball; or |
|
|||
The batter did not leave the box. By rule, the batter must exit the box with both feet to have left the box.
__________________
Tony Carilli |
|
|||
Exactly. With one foot.
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
If the batter steps out with both feet and the pitchers fails deliver the pitch, a strike is called on the batter. 1. If the pitcher, with a runner on base, stops or hesitates in his delivery because the batter steps out of the box (a) with one foot or (b) with both feet or (c) holds up his hand to request "Time," it shall not be a balk. In (a) and (c), there is no penalty on either the batter or the pitcher. The umpire shall call "Time" and begin play anew. In (b), a strike shall be called on the batter for violation of 7-3-1. In (a), (b) and (c), if the pitcher *legally delivers the ball, it shall be called a strike and the ball remains live. Thus, two strikes are called on the batter in (b). If the umpire judges the batter's action to be a deliberate attempt to create a balk, he will penalize according to 3-3-1o. In the bolded part, the rule states if the pitcher legally delivers the pitch, the pitch will be called a strike in either situatiion a, b, or c. Situation a is with one foot. That's what I am basing my answer on. If the pitcher did NOT deliver the pitch and the batter only stepped out with one foot, it would be a do over or anew. |
|
|||
Not the rule to which I was referring ... but ok.
That rule starts with: Quote:
The OP did not mention anything along these lines. If the pitcher stopped or hesitated because of the batter stepping out, I would agree with you.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I think the difference here is live-ball strike vs. dead-ball strike. If the pitcher hesitates because the batter stepped out with both feet (b), then we have a dead-ball strike. If (a) or (c) occurs, you have a violation by both the batter and pitcher and you wind up with a "re-do." If, by stepping out with one or both feet or holding up a hand to request time (a, b, or c), the pitcher is not affected and he delivers a legal pitch, that pitch is to be called a strike irregardless of the pitch's location and the ball remains live.
BTW, you cannot get two strikes on this play. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Batter out of the Batter's Box | BuggBob | Softball | 18 | Tue Jun 29, 2010 04:26pm |
how to catch batter being out of batter's box | bniu | Softball | 28 | Fri Jun 26, 2009 09:36pm |
bat leaves batter's hands | David Emerling | Baseball | 22 | Tue Nov 15, 2005 03:00pm |
bat leaves batter's hands (Part II) | David Emerling | Baseball | 10 | Tue Nov 15, 2005 10:59am |
Batter in the batter's box | SC Ump | Softball | 14 | Thu Sep 04, 2003 01:24pm |