![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
if it's not the last inning, then "play" (or "the game") is still going on. R1 and R2 will advance on a walk. If for some reason, they don't, then, yes, get an out on appeal and cancel the run.
If it's the last inning, then R1 and R2 "don't mean anything", so under OBR (and NCAA, but not under FED), there's no need for them to advance (on a walk) to have the winning run score. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Some would say that a home run qualifies and that as long as R3 and BR advance, the game is over. Others (see Rich in post 10) say only a "non-batted ball award" can meet that definition and that the R1 and R2 must advance and touch. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If the home team scores the winning run in its half of the ninth inning (or its half of an extra inning after a tie), the game ends immediately when the winning run is scored. EXCEPTION: If the last batter in a game hits a home run out of the playing field, the batter-runner and all runners on base are permitted to score, in accordance with the base-running rules, and the game ends when the batter-runner touches home plate. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Rules Quiz | MD Longhorn | Baseball | 29 | Tue Jun 29, 2010 07:03pm |
| Rules Quiz | secondregionbug | Football | 4 | Fri Jul 20, 2007 06:49pm |
| NCAA rules quiz... | Raymond | Basketball | 7 | Wed Jan 17, 2007 03:37pm |
| Rules Quiz | LDUB | Baseball | 4 | Mon Jun 07, 2004 03:53pm |
| Rules Quiz? | Ridgeben | Basketball | 21 | Thu May 15, 2003 09:48pm |