The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 05, 2004, 09:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
I just came across this quiz a few minutes ago. http://www.rulesofbaseball.com/quiz1.html

It is made by http://www.rulesofbaseball.com/, but I think they have a few answers wrong.

One question really stood out to me. In it F1 stumbles and ends up falling, he ends up lying on top of first base. The BR is running down the line. He steps on F1's back, because F1 is totaly covering the base. BR falls on the ground. F2 picks up the ball and tags BR. It said that BR is out on appeal for missing first. Now mabye I'm missing something, but how is that not obstruction?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 05, 2004, 10:12pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
I can only guess that there was no play being made on BR, therefore no obstruction. If no play was being made on him he should have been able to stop and touch the bag, even if he waited for F1 to get off the bag.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 05, 2004, 11:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
The play was being made on the runner. The fielder was in the act of fielding the throw. Just because he missed it doesn't mean he wasn't in the act. Therefore no obstruction.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 07, 2004, 06:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Good test. It was obviously made up by people who know the nuances of the game, and the explanations are detailed and intelligent.

I missed #10, which I thought was easy. I had no idea the manager actually had to request that the result of the play stand after catcher's interference.

The one where with 2 out the forced runner slides past 2B, missing the bag, and is tagged out after the run scores is still troublesome, even though I knew the answer. Seems as if the defense should be allowed a subsequent appeal to negate the run, but apparently they're not.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 07, 2004, 03:53pm
Gee Gee is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 305
Try reading OBR 7.10(d), extended to all bases. If the runner stays in the immediate area of the base an appeal is not allowed, EVER. G
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1