The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 10, 2013, 04:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks!

I appreciate the replies!

Still seems a little off to me. Consider this scenario: Bases loaded, two outs, and the batter is walked. If batter does not touch first base (assuming no fan interference or other crazy stuff), the run does not count - i.e., the batter must successfully become a runner prior to the third out. I know this is not exactly the same scenario, but (at least in my little mind) the logic seems somewhat applicable.

In my scenario above, since the batter has not successfully avoided becoming the third out (i.e., theoretically, he may still have been thrown out by the time the last out occurred), the run should not count regardless of how the out occurred.

Again, I appreciate the replies! Just goes to show how little I really know about a game I have spent my entire life involved with.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 10, 2013, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Think about it this way though ... you don't know, at the moment the 3rd out was made, whether the batter-runner would have been safe at first... but once that 3rd out is made, they have no reason to continue running, so you'll never really know.

The rules make it easy for us in just about every case. If the 3rd out is made on a batter runner before they reach first, or on a forced runner, no runs can score. In any other case, runs that happen before the 3rd out count. (And a polite request for the umpire lawyers to not confuse the situations with extraneous info that doesn't apply to OP's situation! Please!?!?! )
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 10, 2013, 05:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBlom View Post
I appreciate the replies!

Still seems a little off to me. Consider this scenario: Bases loaded, two outs, and the batter is walked. If batter does not touch first base (assuming no fan interference or other crazy stuff), the run does not count - i.e., the batter must successfully become a runner prior to the third out. I know this is not exactly the same scenario, but (at least in my little mind) the logic seems somewhat applicable.

In my scenario above, since the batter has not successfully avoided becoming the third out (i.e., theoretically, he may still have been thrown out by the time the last out occurred), the run should not count regardless of how the out occurred.

Again, I appreciate the replies! Just goes to show how little I really know about a game I have spent my entire life involved with.
You are over-thinking this. It doesn't matter that the batter/runner could have been put out at first - what matters is the 3rd out wasn't made by the batter/runner (or a forced runner). Therefore, it is a time play.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 10, 2013, 05:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
You are over-thinking this. It doesn't matter that the batter/runner could have been put out at first - what matters is the 3rd out wasn't made by the batter/runner (or a forced runner). Therefore, it is a time play.
But if they tag the runner for the third out and throw to get the BR for the fourth out no run scores.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 10, 2013, 06:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
But if they tag the runner for the third out and throw to get the BR for the fourth out no run scores.
In roughly 45 years, I have seen only 2 teams who knew that this was possible. Most teams stop after they record the 3rd out.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 10, 2013, 07:09pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
I can't go as many years as Ozzy, but I can't recall an F6 who tagged the runner in this situation, they just throw the ball to 1b for the 3rd out that prevents any runs from scoring. Seems strange that R3 would score before the tag if it did happen though.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 10, 2013, 10:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
But if they tag the runner for the third out and throw to get the BR for the fourth out no run scores.
Because the out on the B/R becomes the 3rd out.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 11, 2013, 12:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Yokosuka, Japan
Posts: 12
How are you getting a put out in your second scenario BBlom? If I'm assuming nothing crazy happens on a bases loaded walk?
__________________
Eat'em up Tigers.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 11, 2013, 07:17am
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
But if they tag the runner for the third out and throw to get the BR for the fourth out no run scores.
Do they have to appeal that fourth out, or can they just throw there and assume the umpire will be paying attention (since the third out technically ended the inning)?

JJ
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 11, 2013, 08:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJ View Post
Do they have to appeal that fourth out, or can they just throw there and assume the umpire will be paying attention (since the third out technically ended the inning)?

JJ
It's not an appeal. It's a replacement out!

In the rules, the advantageous fourth out is only mentioned as resulting from the appeal of a baserunning error. Various interpretations stretch that to include an out made on the B/R before he reaches 1st base (you would think it would also apply to a forced runner but none of the interps addresses that). It doesn't make sense to me (or Carl), but that's the way it is.

Last edited by dash_riprock; Tue Jun 11, 2013 at 08:55am.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 11, 2013, 09:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
But if they tag the runner for the third out and throw to get the BR for the fourth out no run scores.
Not true. 4th out appeals for missing a base are honored... but there's no 4th out to be had in the play described here.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 11, 2013, 10:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Not true. 4th out appeals for missing a base are honored... but there's no 4th out to be had in the play described here.
It is true (all codes). The D can still play on the B/R before he reaches 1st base, even after the third out.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 11, 2013, 10:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
It is true (all codes). The D can still play on the B/R before he reaches 1st base, even after the third out.
I think MD Longhorn is correct now. The BRD referenced Hopkins, Fetchiet and Fitzpatrick in 2001 as agreeing to the interp which as you and Childress say, doesn't make sense.
My 2012 Wendelstedt Umpire manual reverses that interp and does not allow the BR to be put out if the defense played on somebody else for the third out. They say the defense had the opportunity to make the third at 1B out and was not vigilant.

Does MD Longhorn have other cites for this?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 11, 2013, 11:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
It is true (all codes). The D can still play on the B/R before he reaches 1st base, even after the third out.
But the BR, having not yet reached first, is not required to continue running after the 3rd out is made elsewhere.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 11, 2013, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
But the BR, having not yet reached first, is not required to continue running after the 3rd out is made elsewhere.
You would think so - but that is contrary to three official rulings (FED, NCAA & OBR) that say the B/R can still be put out for the advantageous fourth out. Now umpjim says the Wendelstedt manual says otherwise.

Carl says he hopes this never happens in any of our (and his) games. I share his wish.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tag Ups - Time Play not a Force Out Canary Softball 17 Thu May 06, 2010 02:28pm
Force play or time play? Rita C Baseball 44 Sat Dec 05, 2009 10:12am
Time play umpjim Baseball 8 Sun Aug 10, 2008 12:46am
TIME OUT or PLAY ON? tcannizzo Softball 17 Wed Mar 21, 2007 03:28pm
Force or Time Play?? Dave Davies Baseball 7 Mon Aug 08, 2005 11:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1