The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 27, 2013, 09:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Huh? The runners essentially gave up their running responsibilities by joining in on a game-ending celebration. How is that not considered "abandoning his effort to run the bases"? One could argue they were on their way to the dugout, but stopped along the way to celebrate. They certainly weren't postponing their effort to run the bases.

Also, there is verbiage in the NFHS case book that supports abandonment calls without the need for the runner to go all the way to the dugout or defensive position:
- Under case play 8.4.2 Situation C, there's a sentence that reads, "Upon reaching base a runner abandons his effort when he leaves the baseline."
- Case play 8.4.2 Situation V involves a runner who thought he was out when he really wasn't, and the ruling says, "When R2 began leaving the field, he should be considered as having abandoned his effort to return or advance, and shall be declared out."
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Both.

Abandonment is not an appeal at all ... it's called when it happens.
OTOH, this isn't really an appeal anyway is it... it's simply making a play on a forced runner who has not yet reached his base. Shame on defense for not doing so. They are not appealing a missed base... they are simply making a throw to a base for a force out, like we see them do all game long.
2012 Annual Interps, Situation 18:
In the bottom of the 8th inniing, the score is tied, with the bases loaded and two outs. B6 draws a walk and runs and touches first base. B1 (sic) trots in from third and touches home plate. B2, however, begins celebrating and never touches third base. RULING: All runners must legally touch the next base in advancing. If the defense LEGALLY APPEALS (my emphasis) while at least one umpire is still on the field of play, B2 is declared out for the third out. Since this out would be a "force" out, no runs would score and the game would continue into the ninth inning.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 27, 2013, 09:41am
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
Which is different from Pro and NCAA, where the batter has to touch first and the runner from 3rd has to touch home. Doesn't matter what the other runners do if this is a game ending situation on a base on balls.

JJ
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 27, 2013, 10:51am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
2012 Annual Interps, Situation 18:
In the bottom of the 8th inniing, the score is tied, with the bases loaded and two outs. B6 draws a walk and runs and touches first base. B1 (sic) trots in from third and touches home plate. B2, however, begins celebrating and never touches third base. RULING: All runners must legally touch the next base in advancing. If the defense LEGALLY APPEALS (my emphasis) while at least one umpire is still on the field of play, B2 is declared out for the third out. Since this out would be a "force" out, no runs would score and the game would continue into the ninth inning.
That's just plain silly. If FED wants to disallow the run, then fine. But don't try to talk me into believing that it's a "force" out.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 27, 2013, 11:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT1 View Post
That's just plain silly. If FED wants to disallow the run, then fine. But don't try to talk me into believing that it's a "force" out.
Why would it not be a force out? R2 was forced to third by BR's walk and chose not to go there.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 28, 2013, 05:26am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Why would it not be a force out? R2 was forced to third by BR's walk and chose not to go there.
That's exactly the problem. In the non-Fedlandia baseball world, R2 is NOT forced to advance on a game-ending award. Plus, the award is "without liability of being put out."

I'd rather see FED put an exception in the "how a run scores" section than call this a "force" out.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 28, 2013, 07:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT1 View Post
That's exactly the problem. In the non-Fedlandia baseball world, R2 is NOT forced to advance on a game-ending award. Plus, the award is "without liability of being put out."

I'd rather see FED put an exception in the "how a run scores" section than call this a "force" out.
Isn't it already in 9-1-1, Note 2?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 28, 2013, 08:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
2012 Annual Interps, Situation 18:
In the bottom of the 8th inniing, the score is tied, with the bases loaded and two outs. B6 draws a walk and runs and touches first base. B1 (sic) trots in from third and touches home plate. B2, however, begins celebrating and never touches third base. RULING: All runners must legally touch the next base in advancing. If the defense LEGALLY APPEALS (my emphasis) while at least one umpire is still on the field of play, B2 is declared out for the third out. Since this out would be a "force" out, no runs would score and the game would continue into the ninth inning.
The play (the OP) that I was referring to that you quoted me on was a batted ball --- playing at 2nd or 3rd on the runner who started on first or second base is simply playing on a runner before they reach the base they are forced to go to. It's not an appeal ... it's an everyday force play just like those we see 100 times a weekend.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Base abandonment? legend Baseball 7 Mon Jun 04, 2007 01:56pm
Final Final Final List of Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules BillyMac Basketball 1 Fri Oct 14, 2005 11:23am
D3K/ abandonment of base Little Jimmy Softball 5 Thu Apr 21, 2005 01:56pm
Base Running and Abandonment teacherspit Baseball 10 Thu Jul 22, 2004 12:15am
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here Tap Softball 9 Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1