![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Because A says he must be tagged. Another answer says, paraphrasing, that if the fielder had possession of the ball during the tag attempt the runner would be guilty of going outside of his 3` running lane. You can't have both of these answers as correct.
|
|
|||
|
You can if you consider them independently.
|
|
|||
|
Since the fielder was in the act of fielding the throw but didn't catch it, he couldn't make a tag attempt so you can't call obstruction on the fielder nore can you call the runner for being out of the basepath. I'm going to get out my flipping coin on this answer...
JJ |
|
|||
|
Yes but an all of the above answer means all other answers are correct inclusively. This cannot be the case.
|
|
|||
|
Here's an NCAA question I got wrong and don't really understand why. I chose "C", but the answer given by the NCAA was "A". Does the NCAA think this is a batting out-of-order infraction. I took it as an illegal substitution. Even the NCAA justification seems to indicate that.
Question: Larry is the DH for the pitcher. In the fourth inning, the coach decides to have the pitcher bat for himself. In the sixth inning, the coach decides to have Larry bat for the pitcher again. Before a pitch is thrown to Larry, the defense appeals. a. Since the defense appealed before a pitch was thrown, the offensive team may replace Larry without penalty. b. Once Larry is removed from the DH's role, he may subsequently return to the game but only as a pitcher. c. Larry is called out and disqualified from the game. d. Larry is ejected but is not called out. His substitute will assume Larry's position at the plate. Explanation: 5-5j (1) & (3) j. Should a withdrawn (disqualified) player re-enter the game: (1) If on offense, whether as a batter or a runner, upon discovery by the opposing team or an umpire, the player immediately shall be declared out and disqualified from the game. If the player should score a run before the discovery, an appeal must be made to the umpire-in-chief before the first pitch to the next batter of either team. This appeal would invalidate the action of the ineligible player; (3) Any player for whom a withdrawn player substitutes may not re-enter the game |
|
|||
|
So - did anyone ever figure out the purpose of the original question?
Hint: Obstruction before the runner reached first on a caught fly ball.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
That's a mighty big word you're using there, pardner. Sounds like that is 99.9% of the law. It would be better if the runner ran through the fielder, and got an obstruction call (if that would apply in the rundown).
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
B - you cannot get OBS if the runner was to run the fielder over since the fielder was in the act of fielding a thrown ball. |
|
|||
|
After finally watching the video several times and having the answers right in front of me, I'm going with "D".
I think the NCAA is trying to see if we'll get hung up on the "out of the baseline" bit, but since the fielder doesn't have the ball we can't call that. That leaves "he must be tagged" as the only way the defense can get him out. That makes "D" correct for me. FWIW. JJ |
|
|||
|
Quote:
B~Most times it is just better to run at the fielder. You're in the line of the throw, and might get an obstruction call. That's why I wrote (if that would apply in the rundown). Why I put that part in parentheses.
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me? |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| NCAA Question | mattmets | Football | 5 | Sat Sep 22, 2012 11:14pm |
| NCAA W Sub Question | SCalScoreKeeper | Basketball | 3 | Sun Feb 05, 2012 03:38pm |
| NCAA question | zm1283 | Basketball | 2 | Sun Jan 23, 2011 12:02am |
| NCAA Rule change? - Question #57 NCAA Test | ljudge | Football | 2 | Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:21am |
| NCAA Question | dumbref | Football | 9 | Wed Nov 09, 2005 01:41pm |