The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 29, 2013, 11:32pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
The video question with R2 getting picked off at 2nd and getting in a rundown is a real mess. F5 drops the ball while trying to tag R2 who probably doesn't leave the basepath as he avoids the potential tag. I would have nothing, but that isn't really one of the options.

I think if you have "nothing" then IMO, A has to be your choice.

That being said, I'm not claiming to be the expert.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 12:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
A says the runner must be tagged,
B says the runner is out of the baseline but it only applies if the fielder has the ball and is making a tag attempt
C says pretty much the same thing as B.
D is all of the above

It has to be D.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 12:30am
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
For the purpose of discussion, unless you don't judge him to be out of his base path. Then it can't be B or C, so then it's not D, so it has to be A.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 12:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
"For the being 'out of the baseline principle' to apply, the fielder must have secured the ball and be attempting a tag."

Why isn't this correct?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 12:56am
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
"For the being 'out of the baseline principle' to apply, the fielder must have secured the ball and be attempting a tag."

Why isn't this correct?
I'm not saying I disagree w/ "C" as a statement. But I don't think C applies to this question.

The rule states: (which I'm certain you know),

"In running to any base, while trying to avoid being tagged out, the runner runs more than three feet left or right from a direct line between the base and the runner's location at the time a play is being made"

If you answer "C" I can live with that, but the answer can't be D. (Again, I'm not saying I'm right. I appreciate the discussion)
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 09:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
I'm not saying I disagree w/ "C" as a statement. But I don't think C applies to this question.

The rule states: (which I'm certain you know),

"In running to any base, while trying to avoid being tagged out, the runner runs more than three feet left or right from a direct line between the base and the runner's location at the time a play is being made"

If you answer "C" I can live with that, but the answer can't be D. (Again, I'm not saying I'm right. I appreciate the discussion)
I think the runner clearly runs more than 3' from his path. IF F5 had caught the ball, we'd have an out.

So, I'm answering "D".
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I think the runner clearly runs more than 3' from his path. IF F5 had caught the ball, we'd have an out.

So, I'm answering "D".
I wish everyone could see the video. I really don't think he runs more than three feet from the tag when the potential tag is attempted. That may not be what they're trying to convey from the question though.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I think the runner clearly runs more than 3' from his path. IF F5 had caught the ball, we'd have an out.

So, I'm answering "D".

This is where I'm confused..."A" says, "This runner must be tagged to be out in this situation" -- but if we judge the runner to be more than 3' out of his baseline, he doesn't need to be tagged (of course, as long as the fielder has the ball) -- he's out for being more than 3' from his path...correct?

Frankly, I can't tell the difference b/t "B" and "C" -- so I haven't a clue what to put!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Question mattmets Football 5 Sat Sep 22, 2012 11:14pm
NCAA W Sub Question SCalScoreKeeper Basketball 3 Sun Feb 05, 2012 03:38pm
NCAA question zm1283 Basketball 2 Sun Jan 23, 2011 12:02am
NCAA Rule change? - Question #57 NCAA Test ljudge Football 2 Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:21am
NCAA Question dumbref Football 9 Wed Nov 09, 2005 01:41pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1