The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 27, 2012, 08:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
INT on a foul ball

How do you like this?

__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 27, 2012, 08:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Yet another complete crap call. Saw this last night. Some of these guys have lost all their skills, and would not move up in high school ball around here. I'm disgusted.

(And tbh... this was OBSTRUCTION if you think about it... at least until the ball dropped foul)
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 27, 2012, 08:45am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Yet another complete crap call. Saw this last night. Some of these guys have lost all their skills, and would not move up in high school ball around here. I'm disgusted.

(And tbh... this was OBSTRUCTION if you think about it... at least until the ball dropped foul)
Obviously you cannot say that. These are the best guys in the world right? LOL!!!

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 27, 2012, 02:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Obviously you cannot say that. These are the best guys in the world right? LOL!!!

Peace
Weren't you one of the guys who lambasted me a couple of years ago when I dared question football officials and their judgment?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 27, 2012, 05:52pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
Weren't you one of the guys who lambasted me a couple of years ago when I dared question football officials and their judgment?
My position has been consistent for years. I have never really been in love with MLB umpires from the days that 300 pound guys were the norm as umpires. And when guys cannot get very basic plays right and it does not seem that video review takes place at that level, I have issues with that when basic college or HS umpires would not make these kinds of errors. NFL officials are much better with fewer umpires and even with replay and do not have many of their plays overturned. If I recall my position with that football discussion is not atypical of other discussions when it comes to football, you did not know the rule that you were ranting about. Most of the time people complain about football officiating do not realize what the rule was. And I do not think I was alone in getting on you about your position. I am a big boy, if I am wrong about this then say so. But do not try to distort my position because you were ripped apart by many on the football site about your lack of knowledge. BTW, I think the replacement officials have been rather bad too in many cases and I know a few of them personally. Now what?

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 27, 2012, 08:38pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
From what I see:

Not an IFF

INT call is weak, INT is dead ball so second out should not happen

2nd out, which should have the first, except the INT call, which Off team could legit argue was after dead ball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 27, 2012, 09:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
(And tbh... this was OBSTRUCTION if you think about it... at least until the ball dropped foul)
I suppose you could make a case for protecting F3, but it's a weak case. F2 had a better play on the ball.

Here's one of several errors made by the crew: if U1 calls R1 out for INT, why is he allowing play to develop? Why are we throwing the ball across the diamond? Isn't it DEAD on INT?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 27, 2012, 10:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
I would have never ruled that F3 had an opportunity on this play. F1 & F2 are right there and one of them would be protected.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 27, 2012, 11:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy6900 View Post
I would have never ruled that F3 had an opportunity on this play. F1 & F2 are right there and one of them would be protected.
Obviously because it ended up being a routine catch.

F2 is the last fielder protected. I believe the correct call was made. I would have ruled INT as well.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 27, 2012, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 View Post
Obviously because it ended up being a routine catch.

F2 is the last fielder protected. I believe the correct call was made. I would have ruled INT as well.
Um ... based on your OWN WORDS, calling int would be wrong. If you protected F2 - then the collision between runner and F3 is obstruction, not interference. (PS - Mr. Rolleyes... routine or not has nothing to do with this - if you really think it does, please ask this at your next clinic. What matters is - which fielder does the UMPIRE think is going to make the play? That fielder is protected, and no one else.)
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 27, 2012, 12:10pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy6900 View Post
I would have never ruled that F3 had an opportunity on this play. F1 & F2 are right there and one of them would be protected.
I dunno, ozzy. F2 definitely had the harder play (and the fact that he didn't make it confirms that) caused by the fact that F3 couldn't get to the ball. I stopped the video the moment F3 contacted R1, and at that moment, all three fielders were about equidistant from the point where the ball fell. So I don't think it's a stretch to say that F3 would have called F2 (and F1, for that matter) off to make the catch had R1 not hindered him.

This was definitely a dumb move by R1. He's lollygagging back to first base while holding his arm up in the air. Interference should have been called right then and there, IMHO.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Here's one of several errors made by the crew: if U1 calls R1 out for INT, why is he allowing play to develop? Why are we throwing the ball across the diamond? Isn't it DEAD on INT?
I'm not so sure U1 made that call right away. It was only after the crew got together to discuss it did they make that determination.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 27, 2012, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
I'm not so sure U1 made that call right away. It was only after the crew got together to discuss it did they make that determination.
He made the int call immediately (not seen in this video, but seen on others) - on this particular video, however, at about 12-13 seconds you can see he's already got a fist in the air before the ball is thrown to first.

In the other video, you can see him put his arm in the air at the point where they collide (looks more like and IFF signal to me) and he points several times at the runner, long before the ball came down.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 27, 2012, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I suppose you could make a case for protecting F3, but it's a weak case. F2 had a better play on the ball.

Here's one of several errors made by the crew: if U1 calls R1 out for INT, why is he allowing play to develop? Why are we throwing the ball across the diamond? Isn't it DEAD on INT?
We also have an IFF situation. We have to keep it live until we know the status of the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 27, 2012, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 View Post
We also have an IFF situation. We have to keep it live until we know the status of the ball.
Egads ... two in the same thread. NO. Interference is a dead ball. The ball's status is DEAD.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 27, 2012, 12:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Um ... based on your OWN WORDS, calling int would be wrong. If you protected F2 - then the collision between runner and F3 is obstruction, not interference. (PS - Mr. Rolleyes... routine or not has nothing to do with this - if you really think it does, please ask this at your next clinic. What matters is - which fielder does the UMPIRE think is going to make the play? That fielder is protected, and no one else.)
I don't know how you infer that. I would have protected F3 hence the INT.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Egads ... two in the same thread. NO. Interference is a dead ball. The ball's status is DEAD.
A] not all INT results in an immediate dead ball B] you keep the ball live until the status is determined for the IFF. If you kill it right away you may deprive the defense from completing the IFF ie catch, touching it fair. If the ball is fair, you would have two outs, if the ball is foul, you have one out and batter back up to bat.

Same is true for type A OBS on the batter runner. If the ball is a fly ball or fair/foul status is in question you keep it live until the play is over.

Last edited by UmpTTS43; Mon Aug 27, 2012 at 12:12pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Live ball foul administered as a dead ball foul ML99 Football 2 Sun Nov 01, 2009 08:38am
Dead ball foul, then live ball foul? stegenref Football 13 Fri Sep 18, 2009 12:47pm
Live Ball Foul Called as Dead Ball Reffing Rev. Football 15 Wed Sep 09, 2009 01:30pm
Foul Ball Out or Dead Ball/Foul Ball Frank Drebin Baseball 1 Sat Apr 30, 2005 06:50am
Foul Ball Call - Does it make the ball dead ??? cmckenna Baseball 2 Tue Apr 30, 2002 08:53am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1