Quote:
Originally Posted by brainbrian
Separate from the protest, I am confused how this is not runner interference. The runner seems to even have a foot on the grass. Of course the throw was not good, ...
What if the throw had hit the runner in the back? Any different ruling for that?
|
You've answered your own first question. You need to understand the rule: RLI is special because it involves interference with
taking the throw, not making the throw. So by interpretation, it must be a quality throw that would otherwise have retired the runner. As you state, that's not what we had here, so no RLI.
You can now answer your second question: if the throw hits him in the back, would it have retired him? Probably, hence in that case we'd call RLI if he's out of the lane.