The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 21, 2012, 12:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,037
"I got the relay and looked up to throw, and there was someone standing right in my way," Cruz said. "I was like, whoa, why was he in front of me? I guessed he fell. I've got to move around and make a throw."

Sounds like the coach, who was out of the box, interfered with the throw home as he was getting up.
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 21, 2012, 02:32pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
"I got the relay and looked up to throw, and there was someone standing right in my way," Cruz said. "I was like, whoa, why was he in front of me? I guessed he fell. I've got to move around and make a throw."

Sounds like the coach, who was out of the box, interfered with the throw home as he was getting up.
That isn't what they are arguing about though. They are citing incorrectly that it is interference if the runner simply plows into the base coach. The winning coach said he was arguing for interference because of the initial collision, not the prevention of a throw home. The article and subsequent comments are murky, so absent a video, it's a YHTBT.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 21, 2012, 04:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve View Post
That isn't what they are arguing about though. They are citing incorrectly that it is interference if the runner simply plows into the base coach. The winning coach said he was arguing for interference because of the initial collision, not the prevention of a throw home. The article and subsequent comments are murky, so absent a video, it's a YHTBT.
No video posted on KZTCV10 of game 3. Sorry, It will have to remain a head scratcher.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 21, 2012, 05:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve View Post
That isn't what they are arguing about though. They are citing incorrectly that it is interference if the runner simply plows into the base coach. The winning coach said he was arguing for interference because of the initial collision, not the prevention of a throw home. The article and subsequent comments are murky, so absent a video, it's a YHTBT.
I understand the the winning coach don't know his ... from a hole in the ground. He may have took credit for the win by thinking he understand the rule and pumping his fist got him the call, but obviously the umps got together and made the right call if he in fact interfered with the throw, and NOT interfering with his own BR.

If the coach interfered with the play and the umps saw it that way, then they made the correct call. Even the off coach said it was the right call, but wtf does he know. Maybe he knew he interfered with the throw and why he claimed responsibility.

I kind of understand the discussion here, but I haven't seen anyone state the fact that F5 states the coach was in his way on the relay throw home. IMO that is what's relative here. Am I wrong?

And since when do announcers and reporters have a F'ing clue on what theyre talking about

JMTC
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 21, 2012, 11:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Coach interference - Judgement - not automatic. Hint of an intent requirement but not actually stated.

3.15 PLAY: Batter hits ball to shortstop, who fields ball but throws wild past first baseman. The coach at first base, to avoid being hit by the ball, falls to the ground and the first baseman on his way to retrieve the wild thrown ball, runs into the coach. The batter-runner finally ends up on third base. Whether the umpire should call interference on the part of the coach is up to the judgment of the umpire and if the umpire felt that the coach did all he could to avoid interfering with the play, no interference need be called. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the coach was attempting to make it appear that he was trying not to interfere, the umpire should rule interference.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 21, 2012, 11:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Coach interference - Judgement - not automatic. Hint of an intent requirement but not actually stated.

3.15 PLAY: Batter hits ball to shortstop, who fields ball but throws wild past first baseman. The coach at first base, to avoid being hit by the ball, falls to the ground and the first baseman on his way to retrieve the wild thrown ball, runs into the coach. The batter-runner finally ends up on third base. Whether the umpire should call interference on the part of the coach is up to the judgment of the umpire and if the umpire felt that the coach did all he could to avoid interfering with the play, no interference need be called. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the coach was attempting to make it appear that he was trying not to interfere, the umpire should rule interference.
Is this some type of example to the play being discussed?

I hope not because, IMO it's nowhere near the same situation. Am I missing something?
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2012, 07:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Coach interference - Judgement - not automatic. Hint of an intent requirement but not actually stated.

3.15 PLAY: Batter hits ball to shortstop, who fields ball but throws wild past first baseman. The coach at first base, to avoid being hit by the ball, falls to the ground and the first baseman on his way to retrieve the wild thrown ball, runs into the coach. The batter-runner finally ends up on third base. Whether the umpire should call interference on the part of the coach is up to the judgment of the umpire and if the umpire felt that the coach did all he could to avoid interfering with the play, no interference need be called. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the coach was attempting to make it appear that he was trying not to interfere, the umpire should rule interference.
I think that what you're picking up from this case is not a hint of an intent requirement, but a negligence provision. An intent requirement would require that the coach intend to interfere.

A negligence provision requires the coach to do "all he could to avoid interfering with the play." It's not sufficient, as the ruling goes on to say, to give the appearance of doing all one can (and maybe that's the hint of intent you're picking up on), nor is it sufficient to do nothing and just stand there (as a batter may sometimes do in the batter's box).
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2012, 08:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 769
So we may have this:

"Rule: 3-2-3



ART. 3 . . . No offensive team personnel, other than the base coach, shall be near a base for which a runner is trying so that a fielder may be confused; nor be on or near the baseline in such a way as to draw a throw; nor shall the base coach or members of the team at bat fail to vacate any area needed by a fielder in his attempt to put out a batter or runner.

If a thrown live ball unintentionally touches a base coach in foul territory, or a pitched or thrown ball touches an umpire, the ball is live and in play. If the coach is judged by the umpire to have interfered intentionally with the thrown ball, or interferes in fair territory, the interference penalty is invoked.

PENALTY: The ball is dead immediately and the runner is out. The batter-runner or runner may be out as in 7-4-1f and 8-4-2g. Other runners return as in 8-2-8. "

While interference with a thrown ball requires intent, interference with a fielder trying to put out a runner does not. Maybe the coach not only did not vacate the area, he put himself in it. Or he interfered in fair territory.
Just guessing about what really happened.

Last edited by umpjim; Tue May 22, 2012 at 08:33am.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 21, 2012, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
"I got the relay and looked up to throw, and there was someone standing right in my way," Cruz said. "I was like, whoa, why was he in front of me? I guessed he fell. I've got to move around and make a throw."

Sounds like the coach, who was out of the box, interfered with the throw home as he was getting up.
I went back and read this part. So if this were the case, the call would be interference. The article was terribly written, even from a baseball fan's point of view.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3rd base coach contacts runner Tru_in_Blu Softball 4 Wed Apr 01, 2009 10:22am
coach physically assists runner jodibuck Softball 2 Mon Feb 09, 2009 09:37am
Runner assisted by coach Dakota Softball 98 Wed Jul 23, 2008 01:28pm
Coach making contact with runner? fan Softball 1 Fri May 19, 2006 07:22am
Balk, runner scores but sent back, and defensive coach argues Jim Dixon Baseball 6 Tue Jul 18, 2000 01:41pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1