The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 05, 2012, 11:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Oops

HS varsity game (FED Rules), I have the plate.

R1, no outs.

Batter hits a pop fly near dead ball territory (marked by a chalk line). F5 dives for the ball, makes the catch and lands in dead ball territory. F5 was completely airborne when he made the catch. At the time of the catch, neither foot, nor any part of F5's body had yet touched DBT. I ruled a catch and called time. The O coach (he was in the 3B coach's box) immediately gets in my grille arguing no catch because the fielder has to be straddling the line.

Meanwhile, my partner did not realize I had killed the ball. He also thought F5 had not crossed into DBT. R1 had tagged (properly observed by my partner) and was advancing toward 2nd base. F5 threw to 2nd and my partner banged him out. I did not see any of this because I was dealing with the coach, and I knew the ball was dead.

I finally got the coach back in his box and we got back to baseball. A pitch was thrown to the next batter and was fouled off. Now the O coach comes out again and wants to know why his runner was taken off the bases. I called my partner in and after I figured out what had happened, I returned the runner to 2nd base.

Now the D coach comes unglued, arguing that I cannot fix the situation because a pitch had been thrown to the next batter. He protested the game but later withdrew it because his team won.

There were no ejections.

I know the (numerous) mechanics mistakes I made so please spare me the lecture on that.

I have two questions:

1. Would you have handled it differently (assume you made the same mechanics mistakes I did)?

2. What would you have done had the batter doubled instead of fouling the pitch off?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 05, 2012, 02:59pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
1. No. I would have placed the runner back where he belonged in the first place. You were merely rectifying a mistake that was made.

2. Told the coach "sorry, I'll try to do better next time."
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 05, 2012, 03:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
You messed up (we all do), so you just fix it. Don't make it worse by ignoring it.
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 05, 2012, 07:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
R1, no outs.
*snip*
R1 had tagged (properly observed by my partner) and was advancing toward 2nd base. F5 threw to 2nd and my partner banged him out.
*snip*
I returned the runner to 2nd base.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 05, 2012, 07:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
You neglected to snip the catch and carry part.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 05, 2012, 07:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
I have two questions:

1. Would you have handled it differently (assume you made the same mechanics mistakes I did)?

2. What would you have done had the batter doubled instead of fouling the pitch off?
1. No. I would have handled it as you did.

2. I would have scored a run. 10-2-3l (that's an "el").
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 05, 2012, 08:17pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post

2. I would have scored a run. 10-2-3l (that's an "el").
Yes, the rule does say any situation. This would certainly qualify as a situation, all right.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2012, 08:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
1. Fix it like you did, and take the heat (good job not ejecting, I'd say).
2. Fix it - score the run. There are a lot more difficult situations that could have happened though - grounder to the left; grounder to the right; a single would be messy - where "what to do with ghost runner on 2nd" would be messier than either what you had or a double. In any case - fix it with your best judgment, and take the heat.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oops.... Four Seam Softball 2 Sat May 19, 2007 05:42pm
OOPS! Rita C Basketball 11 Wed Jan 25, 2006 09:13am
oops pauli Football 3 Sun Oct 31, 2004 12:59pm
An Oops. mick Basketball 3 Fri Oct 06, 2000 05:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1