The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Oops (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/91012-oops.html)

dash_riprock Sat May 05, 2012 11:40am

Oops
 
HS varsity game (FED Rules), I have the plate.

R1, no outs.

Batter hits a pop fly near dead ball territory (marked by a chalk line). F5 dives for the ball, makes the catch and lands in dead ball territory. F5 was completely airborne when he made the catch. At the time of the catch, neither foot, nor any part of F5's body had yet touched DBT. I ruled a catch and called time. The O coach (he was in the 3B coach's box) immediately gets in my grille arguing no catch because the fielder has to be straddling the line.

Meanwhile, my partner did not realize I had killed the ball. He also thought F5 had not crossed into DBT. R1 had tagged (properly observed by my partner) and was advancing toward 2nd base. F5 threw to 2nd and my partner banged him out. I did not see any of this because I was dealing with the coach, and I knew the ball was dead.

I finally got the coach back in his box and we got back to baseball. A pitch was thrown to the next batter and was fouled off. Now the O coach comes out again and wants to know why his runner was taken off the bases. I called my partner in and after I figured out what had happened, I returned the runner to 2nd base.

Now the D coach comes unglued, arguing that I cannot fix the situation because a pitch had been thrown to the next batter. He protested the game but later withdrew it because his team won.

There were no ejections.

I know the (numerous) mechanics mistakes I made so please spare me the lecture on that.

I have two questions:

1. Would you have handled it differently (assume you made the same mechanics mistakes I did)?

2. What would you have done had the batter doubled instead of fouling the pitch off?

SanDiegoSteve Sat May 05, 2012 02:59pm

1. No. I would have placed the runner back where he belonged in the first place. You were merely rectifying a mistake that was made.

2. Told the coach "sorry, I'll try to do better next time." :)

RPatrino Sat May 05, 2012 03:10pm

You messed up (we all do), so you just fix it. Don't make it worse by ignoring it.

Altor Sat May 05, 2012 07:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 840368)
R1, no outs.
*snip*
R1 had tagged (properly observed by my partner) and was advancing toward 2nd base. F5 threw to 2nd and my partner banged him out.
*snip*
I returned the runner to 2nd base.

:confused::eek:

dash_riprock Sat May 05, 2012 07:14pm

You neglected to snip the catch and carry part.

mbyron Sat May 05, 2012 07:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 840368)
I have two questions:

1. Would you have handled it differently (assume you made the same mechanics mistakes I did)?

2. What would you have done had the batter doubled instead of fouling the pitch off?

1. No. I would have handled it as you did.

2. I would have scored a run. 10-2-3l (that's an "el").

SanDiegoSteve Sat May 05, 2012 08:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 840401)

2. I would have scored a run. 10-2-3l (that's an "el").

Yes, the rule does say any situation. This would certainly qualify as a situation, all right.

MD Longhorn Mon May 07, 2012 08:26am

1. Fix it like you did, and take the heat (good job not ejecting, I'd say).
2. Fix it - score the run. There are a lot more difficult situations that could have happened though - grounder to the left; grounder to the right; a single would be messy - where "what to do with ghost runner on 2nd" would be messier than either what you had or a double. In any case - fix it with your best judgment, and take the heat.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1