![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I thought of that, mbyron but the hangup I have with that interpretation is that I'm not sure what support you have for unscoring a run based upon a runner's action lacking a subsequent appeal.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The rule support is 2-20-1: the inning ended with the 3rd out, and no run can score thereafter.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
|
Yes, but it's not relevant to the situation.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
When he returns to touch it, the previous acquisition is negated, and the legal touch supersedes it. Since that happens after the 3rd out in the OP, the run does not score.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
FED 8.2.2.M is not applicable because the runner is correcting his miss before the 3rd out. |
|
|||
|
Appeal is Meaningless?
Quote:
Would the defense get two outs if 1) they appeal the missed base, and then 2) they appeal the illegal retouch of the missed base? I would say the illegal retouch allows the umpire to bypass the appeal process and call the runner out. Don't be afraid to call it.
__________________
SAump
Last edited by SAump; Sat Apr 21, 2012 at 12:12am. |
|
|||
|
That used to be the Wendelstedt interpretation (unscore the run at the time of the retouch because the runner has changed the "time" of the time play). I don't know if it still is.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Appeal | mach3 | Softball | 7 | Wed Feb 25, 2004 09:30am |
| The Appeal | clok_strix_3 | Baseball | 12 | Thu May 08, 2003 03:31pm |
| Appeal | Prince | Baseball | 3 | Fri May 10, 2002 12:03pm |
| Out on Appeal ??? | Bandit | Softball | 2 | Thu Apr 25, 2002 09:28am |
| appeal | Whowefoolin | Baseball | 2 | Fri Nov 30, 2001 07:08pm |