The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 20, 2011, 04:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by justanotherblue View Post
Simply give a safe signal if the BR did indeed beat the throw, "aquiring" the base. It now becomes an appeal play and it's up to the defense to recognize that an proper appeal must be made. Then you would make your ruling.
Thank you.
I'm still looking for NFHS documentation as I am in a discussion with a few HS baseball umpires who insist that an (immediate out call is the correct mechanic.
My word carries no weight. ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 20, 2011, 06:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by HugoTafurst View Post
Thank you.
I'm still looking for NFHS documentation as I am in a discussion with a few HS baseball umpires who insist that an (immediate out call is the correct mechanic.
My word carries no weight. ;-)
NFHS Baseball Umpires Manual, p. 35: the umpire should make no signal that would tip either team to a baserunning error.

If you fail to signal that the runner beat the ball, you will signal the defense that the runner missed the base. Thus the proper mechanic is to signal "safe" and rule on any properly constituted subsequent appeal.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 20, 2011, 06:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
It's a missed base. Treat it as such.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong

Last edited by Rich Ives; Tue Dec 20, 2011 at 06:54pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 20, 2011, 09:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 480
What if time is called before the overrunning BR can return to 1b or before the defense can properly appeal?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 20, 2011, 10:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmartin View Post
What if time is called before the overrunning BR can return to 1b or before the defense can properly appeal?
Then the umpire has just screwed up and you have to place the B/R on first base. By calling time, you did not give the B/R an opportunity to complete his baserunning responsibilities.

Hugo, I know that you emailed me about this last week. I searched through all the FED materials I have on hand and all I could come up with is what mbyron posted above from the FED Baseball Umpires Manual...then I forgot to email you back.

But I suppose your doubting colleagues might need more than that. If they don't get the basic premise that a runner passing a base is assumed to have aquired it, pending an appeal, then I'm sure they want an interpretation spelled out and wrapped up in a tidy little bow to convince them otherwise. I couldn't find such a reference for FED.

The Major League Baseball Umpires Manual spells this out exactly as has been stated- signal the B/R safe, then wait for an appeal.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 20, 2011, 11:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: At the base of the mountains
Posts: 377
I don't have it with me however, Jaksa/Roder covers this play. You'll need to explain to them the difference between aquiring a base vs. touching a base. Until they understand this concept, they'll never get it.
__________________
Its' not a matter of being right or wrong, it's a matter of working hard to get it right.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 21, 2011, 12:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
Then the umpire has just screwed up and you have to place the B/R on first base. By calling time, you did not give the B/R an opportunity to complete his baserunning responsibilities.

Hugo, I know that you emailed me about this last week. I searched through all the FED materials I have on hand and all I could come up with is what mbyron posted above from the FED Baseball Umpires Manual...then I forgot to email you back.

But I suppose your doubting colleagues might need more than that. If they don't get the basic premise that a runner passing a base is assumed to have aquired it, pending an appeal, then I'm sure they want an interpretation spelled out and wrapped up in a tidy little bow to convince them otherwise. I couldn't find such a reference for FED.

The Major League Baseball Umpires Manual spells this out exactly as has been stated- signal the B/R safe, then wait for an appeal.
Bret, you hit the nail on the head...
I have posted this several places and did get the MLB Umpire manual quote which I just emailed to one of them.
Of course, the comment was that they were talking about NFHS,,,

It appears (so far), from inquiring on several boards, that NFHS does not spell it out word for word, nor have a reference to something like " a player who has reached/passed a base is treated as if they touched the base"

Maybe one day they'll get it.
The good thing is - I don't do baseball with them!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 21, 2011, 08:30am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
At one time, FED had a case play which included the concept of an "unintentional" appeal. That is, if a runner (or B/R) missed a base but any fielder with the ball subsequently touched the missed base, the runner was out by appeal.

PLAY: R1. B2 hits a clean single to center, and R1 goes to third, missing second in the process. F8 throws the ball in to F4 who is standing on second base.

I haven't called FED rules in a few years, but I believe that concept has since been removed.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 21, 2011, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by HugoTafurst View Post
Bret, you hit the nail on the head...
I have posted this several places and did get the MLB Umpire manual quote which I just emailed to one of them.
Of course, the comment was that they were talking about NFHS,,,

It appears (so far), from inquiring on several boards, that NFHS does not spell it out word for word, nor have a reference to something like " a player who has reached/passed a base is treated as if they touched the base"

Maybe one day they'll get it.
The good thing is - I don't do baseball with them!
Maybe you can get them to realize that's it's a missed base and on a missed base the runner is safe unless appealed.

That concept IS in FED.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 15, 2012, 03:44pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmartin View Post
What if time is called before the overrunning BR can return to 1b or before the defense can properly appeal?
Don't grant time. If you did, you kind of screwed up.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 15, 2012, 06:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
Don't grant time. If you did, you kind of screwed up.
Disagree in Fed. What if it's the defense requesting time to execute a dead ball appeal?
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 15, 2012, 08:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Then you still shouldn't be granting time before the play is over- and it's not over until you've given the runner the opportunity to correct his base running mistake or he's stopped running.

Really...would you grant time on any other play when runners haven't finished running the bases and were still in jeopardy?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 15, 2012, 11:59pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
It's a missed base. Treat it as such.

Please enlighten us as to how to treat it as such per NFHS? I am not sure what you are trying to say.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VT Beats US Olympians emaxos Softball 0 Fri Apr 04, 2008 11:41am
New mechanic for backcourt throw-in? jdccpa Basketball 6 Thu Dec 15, 2005 04:09pm
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Throw in violation...mechanic Jeff the Ref Basketball 11 Tue Dec 02, 2003 08:51am
BR Beats Throw to 1B but misses Base Phil Vivenzio Baseball 9 Sat Mar 17, 2001 08:59pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1