The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 07:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 480
Quote:
7.05 Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out,advance—
(b) Three bases, if a fielder deliberately touches a fair ball with his cap, mask or any part of his uniform detached from its proper place on his person. The ball is in play and the batter may advance to home base at his peril;
(d) Two bases, if a fielder deliberately touches a thrown ball with his cap, mask or any part of his uniform detached from its proper place on his person. The ball is in play;
Would you consider a detached glove as "part of his uniform" and thus meeting the penalties described above?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmartin View Post
Would you consider a detached glove as "part of his uniform" and thus meeting the penalties described above?
I think it's pretty clear that Rule 2.00 CATCH makes a distinction between the fielder's glove and the fielder's uniform. As examples of parts of a uniform, the rule cites "cap, protector, pocket". I also think a common sense interpretation is that the glove is not part of the uniform. Also, 7.05 makes a clear distinction between using detached parts of the uniform (7.05(b) and (d)) and a detached glove (7.05(c) and (e)). See also comment to Rule 8.02(a)

Finally, Rule 3.15 does not allow players to be on the field unless they are "in uniform". If the uniform included the glove, players would always have to carry their glove while on the field, which they obviously are not required to do.

I'd say making a catch using a securely held glove in which the fielder has not inserted his fingers is still a catch and legal. The glove is not part of the "uniform" and has not been thrown.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 06:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 340
This seems similar to the case where a batted ball got stuck between the fingers of the pitcher's glove so he tossed glove/ball to F3 for the out. Here the player is essentially catching his own glove.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 09, 2011, 07:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry1953 View Post
This seems similar to the case where a batted ball got stuck between the fingers of the pitcher's glove so he tossed glove/ball to F3 for the out. Here the player is essentially catching his own glove.
No, it's not.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 08:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSUmp16 View Post
I think it's pretty clear that Rule 2.00 CATCH makes a distinction between the fielder's glove and the fielder's uniform. As examples of parts of a uniform, the rule cites "cap, protector, pocket". I also think a common sense interpretation is that the glove is not part of the uniform. Also, 7.05 makes a clear distinction between using detached parts of the uniform (7.05(b) and (d)) and a detached glove (7.05(c) and (e)). See also comment to Rule 8.02(a)

Finally, Rule 3.15 does not allow players to be on the field unless they are "in uniform". If the uniform included the glove, players would always have to carry their glove while on the field, which they obviously are not required to do.

I'd say making a catch using a securely held glove in which the fielder has not inserted his fingers is still a catch and legal. The glove is not part of the "uniform" and has not been thrown.
I bet you'd lose the protest. It's the ball that has to be held securely (not stuck in the glove, held securely) . Hard to do if your fingers aren't in the glove. The throw-the-ball-stuck-in-the-glove play is only an out when the reveiving fielder holds the ball/glove combo securely in his hand or glove.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong

Last edited by Rich Ives; Mon Aug 08, 2011 at 08:44pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Catch Made-Glove Becomes Detached LeeBallanfant Baseball 15 Mon May 02, 2011 09:55am
detached equipment ggk Baseball 17 Sun Jan 20, 2008 01:21am
Detached Equipment rwest Softball 6 Fri May 05, 2006 01:09pm
Detached base Alan G Baseball 2 Sun Apr 28, 2002 08:00am
Detached Equiptment dan_renninger Baseball 4 Sun Mar 17, 2002 11:59am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1