![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Rich Ives and RichMSN have the correct call. It's Pro Ball, people, not youth, NCAA or HS ball. All the runner has to do in Pro Ball is be able to reach the base with a hand, he does not have to do it.
In NCAA and FED, this would be a double play because we have either have an illegal slide or deliberate attempt to take out a player. In youth ball, I hope the same for safety's sake.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
The way it is called in MLB, the rule is near meaningless. Since most players are 6' tall or more, and arms can add to that, you would have to run toward the fielder 8+ feet from the bag to get a remote chance of it being called.
Last edited by DG; Sun Jul 31, 2011 at 06:27pm. |
|
|||
|
http://www.bleachernation.com/wp-con...PM-300x197.png
This is as close as he got to the bag. Agreed, he was probably close enough. Problem is Holliday is 6'5" and that can span a lot of ground out there |
|
|||
|
Seems like there grounds to call INT on this play and you're probably not going to get anybody to eject themselves. By not calling it....is trouble really, was the runner doing an action that will willful and deliberate with the intention of breaking up a double play....in my eyes, yes he was, so I called it. Discussion over.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
|
So, why is this illegal? There is no rule against breaking up a double play.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I suppose. Maybe we have two of the three...I think we have "willful," I think we have "deliberate," but I don't think we have "unsportsmanlike" Maybe it's not under straight OBR.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
|
The MLB rules say:
6.05 A batter is out when: (m) A preceding runner shall, in the umpire’s judgment, intentionally interfere with a fielder who is attempting to catch a thrown ball or to throw a ball in an attempt to complete any play: Rule 6.05(m) Comment: The objective of this rule is to penalize the offensive team for deliberate, unwarranted, unsportsmanlike action by the runner in leaving the baseline for the obvious purpose of crashing the pivot man on a double play, rather than trying to reach the base. Obviously this is an umpire’s judgment play. Where do you find all the extra stuff about being close enough to touch the base? It just seems to hinge on the umpire judging whether or not this applies? |
|
|||
|
He would have had to possess an 8-feet arm then to reach that base. This was interference.
|
|
|||
|
I'm not seeing ANY reference to the runner's ARM in the rule. Do you? Runner has feet too.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
The feet aren't in play here, because they were toward right field, as he was sliding to the right of the bag with his feet away from the base. He'd have to possess 15-foot legs then.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| No interference called in the STL game. | Illini_Ref | Baseball | 0 | Thu Jul 28, 2011 03:45pm |
| Game 5 Called! | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 4 | Tue Oct 28, 2008 12:48pm |
| NBA: Foul should have been called at end of Game 4? | kdays78 | Basketball | 8 | Sat May 31, 2008 03:35am |
| The best or the biggest game you have called | Carroll G. Abbey | Softball | 7 | Wed Jan 07, 2004 06:29pm |
| Fire NFL crew from St. Louis/Tampa Game | Darin | Football | 4 | Thu Jan 27, 2000 07:45pm |