The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 20, 2011, 07:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry1953 View Post
Let's say there was exactly the same play but with R3, same two out situation. The run would still not count, correct?
What does 4.09(a)(1) say?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 20, 2011, 08:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
What does 4.09(a)(1) say?
True that. Rule 7.08(e) says the runner is out if he OR the base is tagged BEFORE he touches the base. It was confusing why Angel Hernandez did not signal out when Posada made a clear and distinct tag of first while looking at him. Things like "attained base", "relaxed action", "continuous action" are not mentioned in the rule book.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 20, 2011, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry1953 View Post
True that. Rule 7.08(e) says the runner is out if he OR the base is tagged BEFORE he touches the base. It was confusing why Angel Hernandez did not signal out when Posada made a clear and distinct tag of first while looking at him. Things like "attained base", "relaxed action", "continuous action" are not mentioned in the rule book.
Does every posted legal speed sign say "if you get caught exceeding this speed limit in excess of a certain amount of mph (as determined by the local authorities), then you may receive a ticket, fine, etc."

Someday or one day, or if ever the world gets perfect, were just going to have to go back and rewrite everything so it is crystal clear for everyone. Then again everything will be perfect and everyone will know everything and we won't have to.

Sometimes you just have to umpire. You should try it first and quit being a pain in the arse because you have no life.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 20, 2011, 10:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry1953 View Post
True that. Rule 7.08(e) says the runner is out if he OR the base is tagged BEFORE he touches the base. It was confusing why Angel Hernandez did not signal out when Posada made a clear and distinct tag of first while looking at him. Things like "attained base", "relaxed action", "continuous action" are not mentioned in the rule book.
One cannot possibly hope to learn American law if one only studies constitutions, statutes and regulations. In fact, the majority of American law is learned from judicial cases (aka "case law") which interpret the statutes, constitutions, regulations, etc.

Likewise, if one only studies the rule book one is missing all of the interpretations (official and otherwise) of those rules found in the various umpire's manuals. (see major league baseball umpire's manual (MLBUM), PBUC Manual, J/R, JEA, etc.)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 20, 2011, 10:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 340
So Angel Hernandez made the proper call when he did not signal the runner who had "attained" first base but had not touched it when Posada stepped on the bag? A literal reading of the rules says a runner can be retired that way by either the "force mechanic" or an appeal. But I get your point.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 20, 2011, 02:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry1953 View Post
So Angel Hernandez made the proper call when he did not signal the runner who had "attained" first base but had not touched it when Posada stepped on the bag?
That is what is being debated on this and other internet boards. Someone on one of the boards posted an approved ruling from the MLBUM that I believe (but others disagree) covers this situation. Personally, as a result of reading that section of the MLBUM I have changed my initial opinion that "yes" is the correct answer to your question quoted above to "no".

However, my opinion did not change because of the rulebook, it changed because of the language from the MLBUM that was posted.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 20, 2011, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry1953 View Post
So Angel Hernandez made the proper call when he did not signal the runner who had "attained" first base but had not touched it when Posada stepped on the bag? A literal reading of the rules says a runner can be retired that way by either the "force mechanic" or an appeal. But I get your point.
I do not think signalling nothing was correct. I think he should have signalled "safe". I also think that *if* F3's actions were an appeal, he should have had an out then.

So, it's possible that he did it correctly (either the process has changed *or* what I (and others) read in MLBUM somehow doesn't apply -- and it has to do with some timing issue), or it's possible that he did it incorrectly. Some would say that given the umpire involved, one of those is more likley than the other.

Unless MLB comes out with something, or until another (nearly) identical play happens, we probably won't know.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 20, 2011, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I do not think signalling nothing was correct. I think he should have signalled "safe". I also think that *if* F3's actions were an appeal, he should have had an out then.

So, it's possible that he did it correctly (either the process has changed *or* what I (and others) read in MLBUM somehow doesn't apply -- and it has to do with some timing issue), or it's possible that he did it incorrectly. Some would say that given the umpire involved, one of those is more likley than the other.

Unless MLB comes out with something, or until another (nearly) identical play happens, we probably won't know.
Your last sentence is so true, and actually a bit of a shame. I fully understand why umpires don't want to be quizzed on their calls, but it would certainly be helpful. With all the games being televised with high scrutiny replay, MLB needs to understand, as you said, that some of these strange calls set a precedent. I don't think it would hurt for ESPN to have the chance to interview an umpire supervisor to ask some of these questions. Otherwise it is just high priests and tabernacles and secret knowledge.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 20, 2011, 04:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 340
OK, really, I am not trying to be annoying (yeah, right) but here goes. I had proposed an R3 situation with 2 outs. I understand that, by rule the run would not have counted after all the confusion at first. However, the B/R could have made a break for 2B after AH failed to signal an out when Posada distinctly stepped on the bag (darn well knowing that he missed it, that would have been his only chance to stay alive). That probably would have made Posada throw down to second to get the out. If the third out was made at 2B, then I guess the run should count?? The Yankees would have then had to get a "fourth out" appeal at 1B to negate the run, right? Obviously that would not have been necessary if AH had signalled out with the tag of the bag - which he probably should have anyway.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dick Vitale Struck By Foul Ball At Rays-Blue Jays Game (VIDEO) SAump Baseball 0 Tue Jun 29, 2010 11:11pm
Yankees-Jays (batter hit on strikeout) Jay R Baseball 4 Tue Sep 02, 2008 01:38am
Angels-Blue Jays : Salmon interfered but not out? Peruvian Baseball 5 Wed May 17, 2006 01:10pm
Umpire dress (Jays-Rays) Jay R Baseball 13 Tue Sep 06, 2005 10:34pm
Weird play Blue Jays-Rangers Jay R Baseball 29 Thu Aug 21, 2003 10:48am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1