The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 17, 2006, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 123
Send a message via AIM to Peruvian Send a message via Yahoo to Peruvian
Exclamation Angels-Blue Jays : Salmon interfered but not out?

I was listening to the Angels-Blue Jays game last night and late in the game Tim Salmom was at bat. I believe there was a 1-1 count on him, less than 2 outs. R1 steals second, but the plate umpire, Mike Winters, called batter interference on Salmon and sent the runner back to first. OK, so far, right?

But Winters didn't call Salmon out - he just sent R1 back to first. This is the second time in the last 3 or 4 years where BI was called at the Major League level and the batter remined at bat.

Did they just miss the ruling or am I missing something here? The announcers didn't even raise the question (I didn't see the play) and me and a buddy riding in the car were dumbfounded that Salmon wasn't called out.

Thoughts?

Last edited by Peruvian; Wed May 17, 2006 at 09:38am. Reason: More specific title
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 17, 2006, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peruvian
I was listening to the Angels-Blue Jays game last night and late in the game Tim Salmom was at bat. I believe there was a 1-1 count on him, less than 2 outs. R1 steals second, but the plate umpire, Mike Winters, called batter interference on Salmon and sent the runner back to first. OK, so far, right?

But Winters didn't call Salmon out - he just sent R1 back to first. This is the second time in the last 3 or 4 years where BI was called at the Major League level and the batter remined at bat.

Did they just miss the ruling or am I missing something here? The announcers didn't even raise the question (I didn't see the play) and me and a buddy riding in the car were dumbfounded that Salmon wasn't called out.

Thoughts?
If the interference was via the batter's backswing then the call is correct.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 17, 2006, 09:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 123
Send a message via AIM to Peruvian Send a message via Yahoo to Peruvian
OK, I see it now. 4.14 in the PBUC Manual. I guess that is what happened.

I wonder how this is handled in FED ball. Anyway, thanks for pointing that out.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 17, 2006, 09:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
The umpire interfered with the catcher.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 17, 2006, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peruvian
I wonder how this is handled in FED ball.

FED it would be treated as interference. There is no "weak interference" in FED.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 17, 2006, 01:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lisle, IL.
Posts: 1,606
Which is why Fed itself is weak, IMHO.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batter Interference Umpire47 Baseball 15 Thu Sep 15, 2005 06:49pm
Batter Interference?? DaveASA/FED Softball 7 Thu Jun 02, 2005 05:07pm
Batter Interference oregonjack Softball 4 Thu Apr 22, 2004 10:04am
Batter Interference PAblue87 Baseball 10 Thu May 23, 2002 10:06pm
batter interference PAblue87 Baseball 1 Wed Apr 18, 2001 10:34am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1